I am thrilled to be joining in with Angie Smith’s The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup blog tour! 🙂

The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup blog tour poster

Many thanks to Angie Smith and Sarah Hardy for the opportunity to take part.

Q&A with Angie Smith…..

Angie Smith (2)

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Hi there everyone. First of all may I take a moment to thank Kerry for inviting me to speak.

I’m Angie Smith, and after surviving breast cancer in 2013/14 I became an author of crime fiction / international thrillers. My catalogue to date:

CXVI The Beginning of The End

CXVI Secrets Broken

CXVI Desperate Measures

The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

My ideas come from experiences, the people I have known or met, the places I have visited and many sleepless nights developing and enhancing plots! I mull things over for hours and hours. The settings I use tend to come from my travels. I really don’t like to write about a place unless I have been there and had first-hand experience of the sights, the smells, the sounds and not least of all the people. I’m often drawn to a particular location and immediately begin to imagine what type of storyline could be born there.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

I’m not admitting to that, but one character in particular is (loosely) based on my husband. However I’m not revealing which one. These days the characters in my later books are purely figments of my imagination, which develop as the story unfolds and they take on their own traits. You could say they wrestle with my emotions.

How do you pick your characters names?

This is something I agonise over. I like to keep the names distinctive and memorable. Also, I suppose it is a bit like naming a pet – it has to fit. I wouldn’t be choosing a name like Doris for a sassy female character for example!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

When I first started writing, I composed a storyline and tried to stick rigidly to that. However, more recently that approach has gone out of the window, The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup started with one scene and developed from that. I like to see where the story takes me!

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

I always duck out of this question because there are so many great authors out there. Sorry.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

If he was still alive I’d love to meet Stieg Larsson and ask him where his inspiration for The Millennium Trilogy came from and what would he have written after that.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Not at all. I was more interested in my pony and being outdoors with him all the time. It was only later in life that I discovered reading. At first my passion was for true crime, in particular books with a great deal of technical forensic information or the psychology of murders. Two of my favourite books were Forty Years of Murder by Professor Keith Simpson and Paul Britton’s The Jigsaw Man.

When did you start to write?

My first book, which I will never publish, was written in early 2013 – let’s say it was just a practice and led to better things.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

This is one thorny issue for me personally, because a number of readers didn’t like the ending to book 1 of the CXVI trilogy. The cliff hanger appeared to be one step too far. Therefore, with hindsight I would have done things differently.

Is there a book you wish you had written?

The best non-fiction book I have ever read. Raising The Dead by Phillip Finch. It’s a true story of death and survival. Two friends dive into a 300 metre deep water-filled crater in South Africa to raise the body of a diver who had perished there. The outcome was both devastating and tragic.

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

I’d invite my own favourite creation, Mr Rupert Bartholomew Faulkner-Brown, and it would have to be at Claridge’s. Of all the characters I have created I absolutely adore Faulkner-Brown. I love the way he antagonises nearly every person he comes into contact with – he reminds me so much of someone I know. Hint, hint.

What are you working on right now?

At the current moment I am focusing on the publication of my latest creation. However, I have some very early thoughts on another thriller. Possibly with a strong psychological aspect.

Do you have a new release?

Yes, yes, yes! The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup. An international thriller which is available on Amazon.

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

This time I have left it to Bloodhound Books to do the launch, so it will be wine all the way hopefully!

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I’m on Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Angie-Smith-Author-329405637261363/

I have a web site: www.cxvi.co.uk

And, I’ve been known to frequent Twitter @cxviangie

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

I love writing and, in addition to spending time drifting in and out of storylines, I also adore my horse. Surviving cancer gave me the will to do the things differently – so I now have my beautiful Nasharra (a thoroughbred chestnut gelding with a cheeky temperament) and writing to occupy my time.

Writing helps my mental well-being and keeps me focused on living.

I’m offering your followers a FREE eBook (Book one of the CXVI Trilogy)! If anyone would like to take advantage of this, please contact me via any of the above methods quoting offer KERRY.

WOW! Great offer! I hope you will all take advantage of Angie’s generosity. Don’t forget to leave a review when you’ve read it!

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Angie 🙂

China teacup 1.1

Publisher: Bloodhound Books (18th May 2017)

Arms dealing. Murder. Corruption.

In Africa, Taylor Hudson reaches the stark realisation that she is in
imminent danger. Time is nearly up when, out of nowhere, she is thrown a
lifeline.  Left with little option, she places her trust in a complete
stranger. But who is this stranger and why the interest in saving her?
The answers lie 6,000 miles away, deep inside the British Secret
Intelligence Service, where a former, disgraced, senior officer is
attempting to work his way back into the heart of the organisation. But
what are his real intentions?

What ensues is a deadly game of bluff, double-bluff and triple-bluff.
Can The China Teacup survive this time?

Buy a copy…..

Author bio:

Angie Smith, having recently survived locally advanced breast cancer,
discovered that her lifelong desire to write had been rekindled.
Consequently, her love for international crime thrillers became the
springboard to the creation of the highly acclaimed CXVI Trilogy.

Her passion for travelling to exotic places greatly inspires her work. A
recent trip to Southern Africa inspired her fourth novel, The Spy Who
Chipped The China Teacup.

Angie, born in 1961, was educated at Huddersfield University where she
graduated with a First Class Honours Degree in Education and Training.
She was nominated for an award on her knowledge transfer partnerships
work, during which she co-produced and presented a journal article at
the International Social Work Conference in Durban.

Angie Smith’s Amazon Author Page

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup #BlogTour @cxviAngie @Bloodhoundbook #AuthorInterview @sarahhardy681

Leave a Reply

