I am thrilled to be a part of Jenny Kane’s Abi’s Neighbour blog tour! 🙂 I’m the last, so make sure you check out the previous posts on the tour, if you haven’t already.

Abi's Neighbour blog tour banner

Q&A with Jenny Kane…..

Jenny Kane

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

With a background in history and archaeology, I should really be sat in a dusty university library translating Medieval Latin criminal records, and writing research documents that hardly anyone would want to read. Instead, I tuck myself away in various cafes in the South West of England, writing contemporary fiction and romance as Jenny Kane stories of medieval crime, erotica as Kay Jaybee (over 18’s ONLY), and medieval tales steeped in mystery, with a side order of romance, as Jennifer Ash.

Jenny Kane is the author the contemporary romance Abi’s Neighbour (Accent Press, 2017), Another Glass of Champagne, (Accent Press, 2016), Christmas at the Castle (Accent Press, 2015), the bestselling novel Abi’s House (Accent Press, 2015), the modern/medieval time slip novel Romancing Robin Hood (Accent Press, 2014), the bestselling novel Another Cup of Coffee (Accent Press, 2013), and its novella length sequels Another Cup of Christmas (Accent Press, 2013), Christmas in the Cotswolds (Accent, 2014), and Christmas at the Castle (Accent, 2016). These three seasonal specials are now available in one boxed set entitled Jenny Kane’s Christmas Collection (Accent, 2016)

Jenny is also the author of quirky children’s picture books There’s a Cow in the Flat (Hushpuppy, 2014) and Ben’s Biscuit Tin (Hushpuppy, 2015)

As Jennifer Ash, Jenny’s first medieval murder mystery, The Outlaw’s Ransom, (Accent Press, 2016) was published in December 2016. A sequel, The Winter Outlaw, will be published in Nov 2017.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Everywhere and anywhere!

It’s usually the simplest things that trigger my imagination. A hairbrush in the wrong place (why is it on the floor?), an abandoned spoon in the freezer section of a supermarket (has someone been having a sneaking scoop of ice cream?), an overheard sentence in a cafe (what did “our Beryl” actually do?), and so on…

I also borrow heavily from my own life experiences. All of my books are set in places I have been to, and all are based on things that have ‘not quite’ happened to me.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

Oh yes!

Each and every character in my Another Cup of… series (Another Cup of Coffee, Another Cup of Christmas, Christmas at the Cotswolds, Christmas at the Castle, Another Glass of Champagne), is based on a friend of mine- all my friends from university in fact. I should add that they all know they are in the books, and they all gave me permission- even Jack! (You’ll have to read the books to see what I mean.)

In Abi’s House and my latest novel, Abi’s Neighbour, the personality of the character, Abi Carter is basically my own. Max, Beth, Jacob and Cassandra, are entirely made up, but the pensioners Stan (Abi’s House and Abi’s Neighbour) and Dora (Abi’s Neighbour) are based on some of the members of the WI group my Nan used to belong to, and their ever patient husbands.

How do you pick your characters names?

They pick themselves really. The names have to fit the characters, and they just arrive in my head. I usually like them- but not always!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I arrive at my desk in the corner of a local cafe at 7.45 am- order black coffee and toast- turn on the laptop and write until about 11am. After that I edit, blog, and write workshops for my creative writing company (Imagine- which I run with fellow author Alison Knight), until about 9pm.

Once I have a novel drafted, I spend a long time on the rewrite and the edits. I am very old school about it. I print out the entire book and go through it with a red pen. Then I type up my edits before going through the document another three times. Only then do I even dare to think it might be finished.

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

(In no particular order)

Kate Griffin

Katie Fforde

Terry Pratchett

Colin Dexter

Elizabeth George

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

I have been lucky enough to meet both Kate Griffin and Katie Fforde in the past – and have shared curry with them both! (I can’t believe my life sometimes!) I would have loved to have spoken with Colin Dexter. I’d have asked him how he manages to get so much information across to his readers with such an economy of words – genius!

Were you a big reader as a child?

I read nonstop. I’d sit in my room all day and get through a novel between breakfast and bedtime.

When did you start to write?

Not until I was 33. My youngest child had started school that day- I had no intension of writing at all- but I was in a coffee shop on my own, and an idea came to me from nowhere. I wrote it on a napkin…three months later the story I wrote was published….I can’t believe how lucky I was to have the very first short tale taken up by a publisher.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

That’s tricky! Possibly I’d add a bit to the end of Another Glass of Champagne– but I can’t say what that would be in case I decide to actually do just that one day…

Is there a book you wish you had written?

There are loads! Most of all, I wish I’d written Kitty Peck and the Musical Hall Murders by Kate Griffin. It is a Masterclass in fiction.

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

Robin Hood – I might let him have ale though. Can’t see coffee sitting well in his stomach! I’d invite him to sit on my sofa to watch Robin of Sherwood, so he could see how far his legend has come. (I wonder if he’d approve?)

What are you working on right now?

I am getting ready to receive the editor’s edits for my second work as Jennifer Ash (medieval crime). The Winter Outlaw will be out late this year. It continues the story of Mathilda of Twyford, a potter’s daughter who finds herself living with a family of wealthy criminals called the Folvilles.

Mathilda was first introduced in The Outlaw’s Ransom, which was published last year.

Do you have a new release due?

On 4th May the second of my Cornish romances, Abi’s Neighbour came out. I’m so excited! The first book, Abi’s House, which centres around the life, friendships, and adventures of Abi Carter, is my bestseller so far. I felt a big responsibility to get book two perfect for the readers who so enjoyed book one.

(And don’t worry – the dog isn’t dead!!)

Blurb

Abi Carter has finally found happiness. Living in her perfect tin miner’s cottage, she has good friends and a gorgeous boyfriend, Max. Life is good. But all that’s about to change when a new neighbour moves in next door.

Cassandra Henley-Pinkerton represents everything Abi thought she’d escaped when she left London. Obnoxious and stuck-up, Cassandra hates living in Cornwall. Worst of all, it looks like she has her sights set on Max.

But Cassandra has problems of her own. Not only is her wealthy married lawyer putting off joining her in their Cornish love nest, but now someone seems intent on sabotaging her business.

Will Cassandra mellow enough to turn to Abi for help – or are they destined never to get along?

Complete with sun, sea and a gorgeous Cornwall setting, Abi’s Neighbour is the PERFECT summer escape.

Buy links-

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Abis-Neighbour-Jenny-Kane/dp/178615028X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1487006698&sr=1-1&keywords=abi%27s+neighbour

https://www.amazon.com/Abis-Neighbour-Jenny-Kane/dp/178615028X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1487006868&sr=1-1&keywords=Abi%27s+Neighbour+by+Jenny+Kane

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

I like to have a book launch if I can- but obviously that can be expensive, so it isn’t always possible. I always raise a cup of coffee with my family however, and treat us all to a takeaway.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I’d love you to keep in touch at-

Twitter- @JennyKaneAuthor

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/JennyKaneRomance?ref=hl

Web site- www.jennykane.co.uk

Amazon Author Page – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jenny-Kane/e/B00HYZIL1E/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1492502979&sr=8-2-ent

Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7255618.Jenny_Kane?from_search=true

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

Many thanks for inviting to me to drop by on my Abi’s Neighbour Blog Tour Kerry!

You can follow the rest of my tour at these venues…..(SEE PIC ABOVE)

Jenny xxx

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Jenny 🙂

Abi's Neighbour cover

Publisher: Accent Press (4th May 2017)

Complete with sun, sea and a gorgeous Cornwall setting, Abi’s Neighbour is the PERFECT summer escape.

Abi Carter has finally found happiness. Living in her perfect tin miner’s cottage, she has good friends and a gorgeous boyfriend, Max. Life is good. But all that’s about to change when a new neighbour moves in next door.

Cassandra Henley-Pinkerton represents everything Abi thought she’d escaped when she left London. Obnoxious and stuck-up, Cassandra hates living in Cornwall. Worst of all, it looks like she has her sights set on Max.

But Cassandra has problems of her own. Not only is her wealthy married lawyer putting off joining her in their Cornish love nest, but now someone seems intent on sabotaging her business.

Will Cassandra mellow enough to turn to Abi for help – or are they destined never to get along?

Buy a copy…..

Enjoy!

Previous post featuring Jenny Kane…..

Jenny Kane’s Christmas Collection #BlogTour @JennyKaneAuthor @AccentPress *EXTRACT*

 

One thought on “Abi’s Neighbour #BlogTour @JennyKaneAuthor @AccentPress #AuthorInterview

Leave a Reply

