Leinster Gardens and Other Subtleties by [Edwards, Jan]

Publisher: Alchemy Press; 1 edition (10th March 2015)

Fourteen short stories by Jan Edwards, including the BFS award short-listed ‘Otterburn’, plus a previously unpublished tale. “All adeptly told, often with a sense of locale and time neatly placed within the narratives. Her family history informs and inspires some of her stories. Folklore figures as a focus in more than one story, whether urban myth or historical lore. But ghostly they are and deceptively disturbing.” (42,000 words)

My review…..

Leinster Gardens and Other Subtleties is like nothing I’ve ever read before. I don’t read many short stories and I always struggle to review them when I do, but I would highly recommend you give these stories a go, if you haven’t already. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading something completely different.

Each story is unique and some are quite dark and creepy, but they’re not your ‘typical’ ghost stories. As the title suggests, they are subtly eerie. Each story transports you to another time and place and I found myself engrossed in the characters and their stories. Each one demands your attention and holds it with wonderful description and dialogue.

I thought Nanna Barrows would be my favourite, until I read R for Roberta, then I changed my mind again when I read Redhill Residential, then The Clinic, then Wade’s Run………

Now I’m not sure which is my favourite, but if I had to pick one I’d probably go with Wade’s Run, but all are beautifully written and thought provoking.

I’m looking forward to reading more of Jan Edwards’ writing.

Buy a copy…..

About the author…..

Jan Edwards

Jan Edwards is a Sussex-born writer now living in the West Midlands with her husband and obligatory cats. She was a Master Locksmith for 20 years but also tried her hand at bookselling, microfiche photography, livery stable work, motorcycle sales and market gardening. She is a practising Reiki Master. She won a Winchester Slim Volume prize and her short fiction can be found in crime, horror and fantasy anthologies in UK, US and Europe; including The Mammoth Book of Dracula and The Mammoth Book of Moriarty. Jan edits anthologies for The Alchemy Press and Fox Spirit Press, and has written for Dr Who spin-offs with Reel Time Pictures.

Her crime novel Winter Downs will be out 3rd June 2017.

http://janedwardsblog.wordpress.com/

Jan Edwards’ Amazon Author Page

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Leinster Gardens and Other Subtleties by @Jancoledwards @alchemy_press #BookReview

Leave a Reply

