Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Jason Hersheyย ๐Ÿ™‚

Jason Hershey Author

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

My name is Jason Hershey. I am originally from Phoenix, Arizona, but I currently reside in Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio with my wife and children. I graduated from Bethel College in North Newton, Kansas with a BS in Elementary education. I am currently a teacher, working school age children.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

The stories kind of write themselves. They are real stories with situations that every reader can envision themselves in. They are all loosely based on fact, yet I tend to take โ€œartistic libertyโ€ with them.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

My main character, Theo, is loosely based on a number of people. Some of it is me, some of it is friends I grew up with.

How do you pick your characters names?

In the first book, To Die To Live, Jazz plays a small, but significant role in the development of the story. I wanted a unique name that would have relevance. Thelonious seemed to fit.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I donโ€™t really have a particular process. I always carry a notebook around with me, yet I write when I can. Between my work, family and coaching soccer, I have to squeeze in writing whenever I can. I could go days without writing, yet the stories are always developing and playing in my head.

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

Lois Lowry, James Patterson, Stephen King, Harper Lee, Patricia Cornwell

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

Lois Lowry. I would ask her about her writing process. I love the stories she writes, specifically The Giver, and all the ones that followed.

Were you a big reader as a child?

I was always a reader. I would actually get grounded from reading and homework when I was little.

When did you start to write?

Like reading, Iโ€™ve always wrote. I remember writing a screenplay a number of years ago, and have always wrote poems and short stories growing up. It wasnโ€™t until just recently that I decided to just go for it and put some of my stuff out for the public to read. The fact that it was met with positive reviews is icing on the cake.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

I wouldnโ€™t. Every book I read is perfect. What I mean by that is, I respect the story that the author is telling, how they told it and where they leave it. There is a reason that stories progress the way they do.

Is there a book you wish you had written?

Any book that sells millions of copies worldwide. ๏Š

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

Dr. Alex Cross from the James Patterson series. I love the way the character is developed and the situations he gets into. I would take him to a neighbourhood restaurant where everyone knows you and knows your order and just talk about life and how he views the people he works with on a daily basis.

What are you working on right now?

My newest book, The Chosen Path, is due for release on May 3rd. I have also started the third book in the series. These two follow the first one To Die To Live, which is currently available.

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

Iโ€™ve only done one, so I didnโ€™t do much, I was just amazed that I had sales. This year, the release date is on my youngest childโ€™s birthdate, so the plan is to spend time with him and enjoy the little things in life.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

They can follow me on my Facebook page (facebook.com/jasonhersheywriter), my website (authorjasonhershey.com) as well as Twitter and Instagram (@authorjasonhershey) and Soundcloud (soundcloud.com/william-jason-hershey)

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

Thank you very much for this amazing opportunity. I truly am humbled and appreciative of your help and support.

My pleasure, Jason ๐Ÿ™‚ย Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.

Excerpt…..

To be rejected when you give your heart, your whole heart, hurts. What was it inside me that allowed me to get hurt? Was I too nice? Was I too trusting? The questions kept replaying themselves over and over in my head. I felt like a victim of my own thoughts, beat down and weak, with no discernable way out. I just wanted someone for me. Someone who had my back and was down to love me.

I stood up off of the park bench and started to walk. I wasnโ€™t sure where I was headed, but I needed a change. A change of heart, of outlook on life, of friends and future. I needed to straighten my life out, and fast. I walked slowly, taking my time to admire the quiet of the street. One thing about college in Kansas, it was quiet in the little town. I was able to reflect. I knew what I needed to do. It was doing it that was going to be hard. I didn’t know when I would tell people. The team had become my family. I loved those guys. They were a part of me and I was a part of them.

I couldnโ€™t be around her, though. There was too much pain and hurt there for me. I was crushed every time I saw her. Every thought broke me down a bit more. I needed to remove myself from the situation before I forgot who I was.

I picked up a rock and threw it into the bushes, listening to it crash through the branches and leaves. When I was a child, I would stand in my backyard and throw rocks into the alley for hours on end. There was something therapeutic about it. The flight of the rock, free in the air, never knowing where it would land. I was the only person around and my footsteps echoed on the empty sidewalk. I knew that after tonight, my whole life would be different. I was ready for the change.

The Chosen Path by [Hershey, Jason]

Publisher: SP Publishing & Createspace; 1 edition (3rd May 2017)

From the author of the emotional “To Die To Live”, comes the next riveting chapter of one man’s search to find his purpose in life.

Thelonious “Theo” Mitchell, now a college freshman, is eager to put the death of his friend, Draven, behind him. Devoting himself to school and sports, he meets Sabrinna, a beautiful co-ed who sweeps him off his feet. Untrusting and hidden behind a wall, he allows himself to fall for her.

Will he find his soulmate and someone who can restore his faith and trust in people? Or will she leave him reeling and continuing his search for a purpose in life?

Pre-order your copy…..

Jason Hershey’s Amazon Author Page

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

