Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Graham Smith ๐Ÿ™‚

Graham Smith Author Pic

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Iโ€™m a 44 year-old manager of a Gretna Green hotel and wedding venue and when Iโ€™m not working I read or write. I have two series with two separate publishers and they feature, Jake Boulder; a Utah bouncer who canโ€™t help but get involved in the hunt for a serial killer and DI Harry Evans; the head of a Cumbrian Major Crimes Team. The Boulder novels are crime action thrillers whereas the Harry Evans series are more your traditional police thrillers.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

I tend to get my ideas from everywhere and nowhere. Iโ€™ve had them from abstract thoughts, news items, overheard conversations and scenes Iโ€™ve seen in real life and on TV.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

All my characters have elements of people I know as well as people I do or donโ€™t want to be. I donโ€™t do this deliberately, itโ€™s more a case of drawing on life experiences when creating characters.

How do you pick your characters names?

This is a constant thorn in my side and I spend a lot of time agonising over character names as chosen properly, a name can convey so many things, such as, age, religion, ethnicity and class.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I donโ€™t have any great secret. I just put my bum in the seat and write. I tend not to plot too far in advance although I generally know what the ending should be even though I donโ€™t know how Iโ€™m going to get the story to that point. This means that the story is fresh and exciting for me as Iโ€™m writing it.

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

The five authors whose books go straight to the summit of Mount To-BeRead are Tom Cain, Stuart MacBride, Matt Hilton, Craig Russell and Michael J. Malone.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

Iโ€™m very lucky to have already met most of my writing heroes, but Iโ€™d love to meet Michael Connelly and Iโ€™d ask him how heโ€™s managed to maintain such a high standard of writing for so many years.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Very much so. I was an only child until I was thirteen and after that there was a huge age gap between me and my siblings so I have read constantly since the age of eight. Iโ€™m very proud to say that my own son is also a huge reader.

When did you start to write?

I started in my late thirties and although a late starter, I have had a wonderful journey and I hope I can continue until for many more years.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

Iโ€™d rewrite the end of Mein Kampf and have it tell a tale of a book killing its author. This may save a few million lives.

Is there a book you wish you had written?

The Da Vinci Code. In among all those clunky sentences, a good story is trying to break out. The fact it made Dan Brown a gazillionaire has nothing to do with my choice whatsoever.

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

Iโ€™d choose Jack Reacher and Iโ€™d take him for a coffee in a really rough bar so I could watch him fight.

What are you working on right now?

Iโ€™m in the very early stages of the third book in the Jake Boulder series. I have a working title of Past Echoes and a head full of ideas, but thatโ€™s all Iโ€™m going to share for now.

Do you have a new release due?

The first in the Jake Boulder series is due to be released on the 25th of April and the second is currently with the publisher awaiting acceptance.

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

I generally try to have a book launch but if not that, I would meet with friends and family for a glass of something non-non-alcoholic.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

The best way to keep in touch with me is via my Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/ or on Twitter @Grahamsmith1972

I also have a website www.grahamsmithauthor.com where folks can sign up for my newsletter and catch up on all kinds of stuff about me and my writing.

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

Just that I really appreciate my readers and love interacting with them.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Graham ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks also to Sarah Hardy, at Bloodhound Books, for arranging this interview.

Publisher: Bloodhound Books (25th April 2017)

WATCHING THE BODIES: An utterly gripping new crime thriller

When Jake Boulder is asked by his PI friend to help investigate the vicious murder of Kira Niemeyer, he soon finds himself tracking a serial killer who selects his next victim in a most unusual manner.

As the body count rises, Boulder has to work with the police to identify the heinous killer before more lives are taken. What ensues is a twisted game of cat and mouse, that only Boulder or the Watcher can survive. But who will it be?

Pre-order your copy…..

Author Bio (courtesy of Sarah at Bloodhound Books):

Graham Smith is married with a young son. A time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since Christmas 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blytonโ€™s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer and interviewer for the well-respected website Crimesquad.com since 2009

He is the author of four books featuring DI Harry Evans and the Cumbrian Major Crimes Team and one book, WATCHING THE BODIES in a new series featuring Utah doorman, Jake Boulder.

Links:

https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/?fref=ts

https://www.grahamsmithauthor.com/

https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972?lang=en-gb

Graham Smith’s Amazon Author Page

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

