Today I have the pleasure of bringing you a Q&A with Anne Buist, as part of her Dangerous To Know blog tour πŸ™‚

Anne Buist

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

I am the Chair of Women’s Mental Health at the University of Melbourne and have over 25 years clinical and research experience in perinatal psychiatry. I work with Protective Services and the legal system in cases of abuse, kidnapping, infanticide and murder.

In my psychological thrillers, Medea’s Curse and Dangerous to Know, tarte noir heroine, forensic psychiatrist Natalie King, encounters infanticide, a missing child, murder and arson as she fights for her patients, her life and her sanity. The third in the series, This I Would Kill For, is currently with my Aussie publisher…and as a bit of light relief I have recently co-authored a romantic comedy (set on the Camino de Santiago) with her husband, called Two Steps Forward, out in Australia in October.Β 

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Ideas are inspired from real life and some of the people I see and assess, though it is the themes I take rather than any individual. Sometimes I start off with one aspect of a person and then develop a back story and add bits and pieces as I go.

How do you pick your character’s names?

Names often change, have to be right for the age of the person (good old google) but also have to feel right and not be too like another character’s name. It can be quite tricky!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I often start writing and do a chapter or two to get the voice and feel, but then I sit and plan it all out, chapter by chapter. This can change a bit, but it means there is never writer’s block (okay, there can be planner’s block, but rarely–I brainstorm and work with my husband on his and my plots and stories, which is why writing a book together was so easy (relatively). I write quite quickly…but then there is the leave, read, re-write, have others read, re-write (and sometimes another re-write or two…).

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

I read a lot and always have, and started writing at eight though I never finished anything until I was fifteen (and it was all really, really, bad). Top five authors of all time…have to include Enid Blyton (though these days it would be JK Rowling who I also love) as she got me reading and what a great imagination! Then…I love the magic of Pat Conroy’s words that conjure up South Carolina in a way I feel I can smell and taste it. Graeme Simsion…have to say that because I’m married to him, but The Rosie Project is one of the few books I rolled around laughing as I read (and if I can’t have him, then John Irving for A Prayer for Owen Meany). As I read and write crime-thrillers I really have to have a couple in this genre but how to pick? Lee Child is very consistent…Tana French writes very well and I like them all, but particularly The Secret Place. Ah but what about Michael Robotham? And John Steinbeck for East of Eden…

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

Rewrite an ending? Well it would ruin it, but damn it, I wanted Rhett to come back to Scarlett (Gone With the Wind).

Is there a book you wish you had written?

Book I wished I’d written? Mmm, don’t have enough time to wish thinks that can’t be…just like to read, enjoy, learn, improve. Probably The Secret Place though. It’s very well written, smart and my genre.Β 

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

Fictional character for coffee? Can’t it be a cocktail? Darcy probably…(the Jane Austen one, though the Bridget Jones one isn’t too bad…and both played by the rather cute Colin Firth anyway).

What are you working on right now?

Will be doing second round of edits soon on Two Steps Forward and then first round edits (I hope) on This I Would Kill For, but also started another stand alone thriller, Everything to Lose. So as usual, busy!

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

I celebrate pub day with a small launch, champagne and a dinner with husband and friends after. I will never tire of these!

People can contact me via my website and email is up there too: www.annebuist.com

Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions, Anne πŸ™‚

Many thanks also to Lucy, at Legend Press, for inviting me to join in with the blog tour.

Dangerous To Know cover

Publisher: Legend Press (15th March 2017)

Natalie King is back: back from a stay on the psych ward. Her reluctance to live a quiet life has contributed to a severe depressive episode, and now it’s time for a retreat to the country, and a low-key research job at a provincial university nearby.

But Natalie and trouble have a strange mutual fascination. Her charismatic new boss Frank is friendly, even attractive. But it turns out his pregnant wife is an old enemy of Natalie’s. And when Frank’s tragic personal history is revealed – then reprised in the most shocking way – Natalie finds herself drawn deep into a mystery. And even deeper into danger.

A harrowing and thrilling mystery. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Lisa Gardner and Lynda la Plante

Anne Buist’s Amazon Author Page

Don’t forget to catch up with, and follow, the rest of the blog tour…..

Dangerous to Know Blog Tour Banner

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Dangerous To Know by Anne Buist @anneebuist @Legend_Press #BlogTour #AuthorInterview

Leave a Reply

