I am delighted to be today’s stop on Maggie James’ #AfterShesGone blog tour! πŸ™‚

Many thanks to Noelle at Thick As Thieves Promo (noelle.thickasthievespromo@gmail.com) for inviting me to take part.Β 

After She's Gone cover

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (16th March 2017)

Lori Golden’s family have had more than their fair share of troubles. But through it all, Lori and her sister, Jessie, have always supported each other. Then Jessie is killed. And Lori’s world turns upside down.

Devastated, Lori struggles to cope with her loss, and to learn to live in a world without her bright, bubbly sister by her side. Around her, her already fractured family start to fall apart. And, as Lori and her mother try to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives, secrets long thought buried are coming painfully to light.

Faced with the unthinkable, Lori is forced to ask herself how well she really knows those who are left behind…

My review…..

It took me a little while to get in to After She’s Gone, but I think that’s more to do with my mood and personal circumstances over this last few weeks. My Grandad passed away on 20th February and we only had his funeral yesterday (16th March), so I have only managed to read this in dribs and drabs and have just managed to finish it this afternoon (17th March). My apologies to Maggie James as I’m not sure my review will do it justice, but I have enjoyed it. I just think I would have enjoyed it more if I had been able to properly absorb myself in it, if you know what I mean.

It’s a heart-breaking and terrifying story of the Golden family’s loss of sixteen year old Jessie, brutally raped and strangled. Her mother, Dana, is naturally devastated, as is her older sister, Lori and their father, Fraser. Dana and Fraser are no longer together. Dana’s health isn’t great anyway, as she is in need of a kidney transplant and the devastation of losing her youngest daughter is too much for her to bare. Lori tries to stay strong for her mother, but she has her own grief to deal with and needs desperately to find out who did this to her baby sister. She goes through phases of suspecting almost everyone, which I imagine would be quite natural. I think the families reaction to Jessie’s murder is quite realistic, although non of us can know how we would react in such horrific circumstances. Lori’s relationship with her new boyfriend, Ryan, is very believable as I can imagine needing the comfort of someone you feel safe with. Is Lori putting her trust in the wrong people though?

I can’t say much more without giving anything away, but this is a good crime thriller with likeable characters and a storyline that will keep you guessing. I did think I had it sussed at one point and was determined to discover the truth. There are plenty of shocks and surprises along the way! I will certainly be adding Maggie James’ other books to my reading list.

Many thanks for my ARC and for letting me join in with the blog tour.

Maggie James

About the author…..

Maggie James is a British author who lives in Bristol. She writes psychological suspense novels.

Before turning her hand to writing, Maggie worked mainly as an accountant, with a diversion into practising as a nutritional therapist. Diet and health remain high on her list of interests, along with travel. Accountancy does not, but then it never did. The urge to pack a bag and go off travelling is always lurking in the background! When not writing, going to the gym, practising yoga or travelling, Maggie can be found seeking new four-legged friends to pet; animals are a lifelong love!

Author Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MJamesFiction/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mjamesfiction

Goodreads Author Page: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/828751.Maggie_James

Blog: http://www.maggiejamesfiction.com/blog

Website: http://www.maggiejamesfiction.com

Don’t forget to catch up with, and follow, the rest of the blog tour…..

After She's Gone blog tour poster

Enjoy!

One thought on “#AfterShesGone by Maggie James @mjamesfiction @TAsTPublicity #BlogTour #BookReview

Leave a Reply

