I am thrilled to be hosting Daisy James today as we celebrate the recent release of her latest book, There’s Something About Cornwall, published on 8th March! 🙂

Check this cover out……

There's Something About Cornwall cover

Publisher: HQ Digital; 1 edition (8th March 2017)

The new delightfully uplifting romantic comedy from Daisy James. Perfect for fans of Mandy Baggot, Christie Barlow and Zara Stoneley.

A knight in a shining camper van!

Life is far from picture perfect for food photographer, Emilie Roberts. Not only has her ex-boyfriend cheated on her, he’s also stolen her dream assignment to beautiful Venice! Instead, Emilie is heading to the wind-swept Cornish coast…

Emilie doesn’t think it can get any worse – until disaster strikes on the very first day! And there’s only one man to rescue this damsel in distress: extremely hunky surfing instructor, Matt Ashby.

Racing from shoot to shoot in a bright orange vintage camper van, Matt isn’t the conventional knight in shining armour – but can he make all of Emilie’s fairy tale dreams come true?

Grab yourself a copy…..

Praise for Daisy James:

‘Perfect, escapist romantic comedy, a joy to read and I loved every second.’ – Rachel’s Random Reads (top 500 Amazon reviewer)

‘Utterly hilarious…Daisy James is quickly becoming my go-to chick-lit author!’ – Pretty Little Book Reviews

‘A beautiful friendship, a sprinkling of romance and a camper van – what more could you want!’ – Rae Reads

‘Absolutely breathtaking!’ – Lu Dex (NetGalley reviewer)

‘A beautiful read!’ – Jessica Bell (NetGalley reviewer)

*Q&A*

Daisy James

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Hi Kerry, first of all a huge thank you for having me as a guest on your blog. It’s great to be here. Well, I’m a Yorkshire girl and I write romantic comedy and contemporary romance. As of the 8th of March I will have four books published which I still need to pinch myself to believe! My latest novel is There’s Somethings About Cornwall which is about a road trip around the county in a bright orange vintage camper van that my characters have nicknamed The Satsuma Splittie.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

I stumble across ideas for my stories all over the place. In the past, I have been accused of being nosey but I prefer to call it taking a healthy interest in other people’s lives. I love a good gossip and always take the time to listen to friend’s stories. However, I do occasionally get a sharp glance from some people worried I might write a whole novel about their escapades. They needn’t worry. All my stories are dragged – kicking and screaming sometimes – completely from my imagination.

How do you pick your characters names?

Gosh, funny you should ask this question. This is one of the hardest parts for me. A character’s name is such an important choice and I try so hard to get it right. We all have names we love and those that conjure painful memories that we want to avoid. Certain names also scream the character’s age too. I’ve just completed the first draft of my Christmas book and the main character started out as Abbie when I was researching, but as soon as I started writing the story her name changed immediately because she told me her name herself!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

In the warmer months I write in my little peppermint-and-cream summerhouse, or should I say garden shed! It’s so peaceful there and I seem to be able to get lots done. I wish I didn’t, but I prefer to write my stories with pen and paper. I’ve tried to write them directly onto my laptop, but the words don’t seem to flow as easily. If I had to choose between the two, I’m a plotter rather than a pantster – I like to have a sense of where the story starts, where it is heading and how it will end.

Daisy James writing shed

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

My favourite genre to read is travel memoir. I love stories about those adventurous souls who give up their lives in the rat race and head to the sunshine to build or renovate their dream home or travel the world on a bicycle or in a tuk-tuk or on a horse! So, of course, I love Peter Mayle (A Year in Provence) whose book started my reading obsession. I also loved Driving Over Lemons (Chris Stewart) and Snowball Oranges (Peter Kerr). One of my favourite recent reads was a series by Karen Wheeler about her decision to move from the fast lane in fashion journalism to a tiny French village. The first is called Tout Sweet which I loved. I mentioned a tuk-tuk. I’ve read a great story about two girls who travelled from Thailand to England in a tuk-tuk – 12,000 miles – amazing!

Were you a big reader as a child?

I’ve always loved reading. When I was young I devoured Enid Blyton and then moved on to Agatha Christie and Alistair MacLean.

When did you start to write?

Like a lot of people, I started by writing a journal. In my teens, I moved on to scribbling short stories before deciding that I wanted to explore the characters further and the only way I could do that was in a full-length novel. I wrote my first novel over twenty years ago and it’s still in a shoe box on top of the wardrobe!

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

It would have to be Gandalf! Wow, what a fabulous conversation that would be!

What are you working on right now?

I’m busy writing my Christmas novel. It feels a little strange listening to carols and eating mince pies in March, but it’s what I need to do to get in the mood!

Do you have a new release due?

My brand new novel – There’s Something About Cornwall – is due for publication on the 8th of March. I’m really excited about it because I loved writing this story. It follows Emilie and Matt who travel around Cornwall in an orange and cream campervan whilst they photograph a celebrity chef’s fabulous bakes for her next cookery book. There’s lots of delicious food, but also artisan beverages such as Cornish wine, Cornish tea and would you believe they make Pastis in Cornwall?

What do you generally do to celebrate on publication day?

I usually bake a cake to share with my family and when I meet up with my friends we tend to celebrate with a bottle of something pink and fizzy.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I’d love to hear from readers via my Facebook page or my Twitter feed or on Instagram.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/daisyjamesbooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/daisyjamesbooks

Is there anything else you would like us to know?

To celebrate the publication of my new novel, I’m running a competition. To enter just follow me on twitter and retweet the pinned tweet. The prize will be drawn at random on 31st march (UK only). Good Luck!

Daisy James competition

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions, Daisy! 🙂

Daisy James’ Amazon Author Page

#CoverReveal There’s Something About Cornwall by Daisy James @daisyjamesbooks

3 thoughts on “There’s Something About Cornwall by Daisy James @daisyjamesbooks @HQDigitalUK #NewRelease #AuthorInterview

Leave a Reply

