I am very happy to be today’s stop on Susanna Beard’s #daretoremember blog tour! 🙂

dare-to-remember-cover

Publisher: Legend Press (1st February 2017)

My review…

Dare To Remember isn’t exactly the kind of psychological crime drama I am used to reading. It isn’t what I would call a fast-paced, full of action read, but it is totally gripping all the same.

Lisa is trying her best to shut herself off from the world. She is suffering from survivor guilt after a horrific attack left her best friend dead and herself scared for life, in more ways than one. She doesn’t feel like she deserves to be happy. She moves away, renting a quiet little cottage and tries to distance herself from friends and family, although she does her best to convince her mother she is doing ok. She can’t cope, because she can’t remember what really happened that night. She sees a psychotherapist with the aim of trying to free her repressed memories, but she is scared of what she might learn.

I immediately liked Lisa and felt totally sorry for the life she feels she must lead, almost as a punishment for living. It seems such a waste when people feel like this having been given a second chance at life, but none of us know how we would react in these situations. It must be hard to be happy when you feel you don’t deserve to be. I really, really wanted Lisa to be happy again.

I loved the relationship Lisa developed with her elderly neighbour next door and the comfort Riley, the dog, gave to her. I think the old man was my favourite character. I was also pleased when Lisa made a friend of Jessica, who I didn’t warm to the same, but I sympathised with her situation. It was good to see Lisa making friends and focusing a bit more on the world around her. I loved the descriptions of her little cottage and it’s location. I can see why this appealed to Lisa and having a fabulous lake on your doorstep is always a plus.

I enjoyed the build up to what it was about that night she couldn’t remember and although I didn’t find the truth as shocking as I expected, it is heart-breaking.

A brilliantly written, character driven, thought provoking read which I highly recommend.

Many thanks to Lucy, at Legend Press, for my Kindle copy and for inviting me to be a part of the blog tour.

Description…

Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley.

However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night?

As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there’s another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can’t escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along.

A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah

Buy your copy HERE

susanna-beard

Susanna Beard

Don’t forget to catch up with, and follow, the rest of Susanna’s blog tour…..

dare-to-remember-blog-tour-banner

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Dare To Remember by Susanna Beard @SusannaBeard25 @Legend_Press #BlogTour #BookReview #daretoremember

Leave a Reply

