Today I am thrilled to welcome Cheryl Rees-Price! 🙂

cheryl-rees-price

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Hello, I’m Cheryl Rees-Price the author of the DI Winter Meadows series. I live in South Wales with my husband and three playful cats. During the day I work in finance and in the evening I plot murders. Fictional of course!

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

My ideas come from all different sources. Sometimes it could just be a comment that sparks an idea. For the first book in the series, The Silent Quarry, the idea came from walking the quarry footpath near to my home. A conversation with a relative who was having problems in work inspired the second book, Frozen Minds.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

I often observe the personalities of people around me and use certain traits in some of my characters. DC Edris, although male, is loosely based on my daughter. He is the same age and has a similar quirky personality.

How do you pick your characters names?

For minor characters I use baby naming books. I try to find names that are popular for certain time periods. For the main characters I look for unusual and memorable names.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I fit in my writing around work and always have a notebook and pen to hand so I can jot down ideas and dialogue. Lunchtime is when I’m at my most creative. I try to write every day, the first draft is always handwritten then I move it to my computer and edit as I go.

Who are your top 5 favourite authors?

Sharon Bolton, Linwood Barclay, R.D Wingfield, Catrin Collier and Harlan Coben.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

I would love to have met Agatha Christie and ask her how she came up with all the plots for her books.

Were you a big reader as a child?

I wasn’t a big reader as a child. I did read The Hardy Boys, I had a bit of a crush on Joe Hardy. In junior school the teacher would read to us on some afternoons, the two books that had the biggest impact were The Hobbit and The adventures of Tom Sawyer

When did you start to write?

I didn’t start to write until I was in my thirties. My daughters were still young and I used to make up stories using them as characters. I then wrote plays for local church performances before gaining the courage to write my first novel.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

I would re write the end of The Shack so that the little girl would be found alive although it would negate the main point of the book.

Is there a book you wish you had written?

There are many books I wish I had written but I probably wouldn’t have enjoyed them so much.

If you could invite any fictional character for coffee who would it be and where would you take them?

I would invite Inspector Frost for coffee. It would be nice to invite him to my home and grill him for information on his cases. I think he would be very entertaining.

What are you working on right now?

I’ve just finished writing the third DI Meadows novel and I’m in the process of starting the next book.

Do you have a new release due?

My stand alone thriller Façade is due out in the summer.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I’m on Facebook, Twitter, and also have a website.

Links

Website

Facebook

The Silent Quarry

Frozen Minds

Bio

Cheryl Rees-Price was born in Cardiff and moved as a Young child to a small ex-mining village on the edge of the Black Mountains, South Wales, where she still lives with her husband, daughters and three cats. After leaving school she worked as a legal clerk for several years before leaving to raise her two daughters.

Cheryl returned to education, studying philosophy, sociology and accountancy whilst working as a part time book keeper. She now works as a finance director for a company that delivers project management and accounting services.

In her spare time Cheryl indulges in her passion for writing, the success of writing plays for local performances gave her the confidence to write her first novel. Her other hobbies include walking and gardening which free her mind to develop plots and create colourful characters.

Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions, Cheryl 🙂

the-silent-quarry-new

Publisher: Accent Press (5th December 2015)

In 1987 a quiet Welsh village was devastated by a brutal attack on two schoolgirls, Bethan Hopkins and Gwen Collier. Only Gwen survived, with horrific injuries and no memory of the attack. The killer was never caught.
Now, nearly thirty years later, Gwen has gone missing and DI Winter Meadows is assigned to the case. Charismatic and intuitive, he has an uncanny gift for finding the truth. But in this small and close-knit community, the past is never far away, and those who have secrets will go to any lengths to keep them. Tensions run high as old feelings and accusations are stirred. And DI Meadows has to battle his own demons as he uncovers a truth he wished had stayed in the past …
The Silent Quarry is the first in the DI Winter Meadows series by Cheryl Rees-Price.

Buy your copy HERE

frozen-minds

Publisher: Accent Press (14th October 2016)

When a man is found murdered at Bethesda House, a home for adults with learning difficulties, local people start to accuse the home’s residents of being behind the killing. The victim was a manager at the home, and seemingly a respectable and well-liked family man. DI Winter Meadows knows there’s more to the case than meets the eye at first, though. As he and his team investigate, Meadows discovers a culture of fear at the home – and some very sinister dealings going on between the staff. Does the answer to the case lie in the relationships between the staff and the residents – or is there something even more sinister afoot?

Buy your copy HERE

You will find all of Cheryl’s books on her Amazon author page

One thought on “Q&A with author, Cheryl Rees-Price @CherylreesPrice @AccentPress

Leave a Reply

