Lizzie's Christmas Escape: A sparkling feel good Christmas romance by [Barlow, Christie]

Publisher: Bookouture (21st October 2016)

Why has it taken me this long to read a book by Christie Barlow???

I was determined to read at least one Christmassy book this month and I decided on Lizzie’s Christmas Escape after seeing such fabulous reviews for it. I can totally see why everyone has been recommending it as I have absolutely loved it! I would have finished it in a couple of days, I think, had it not been a busy time of year, but I can honestly say I have been completely immersed in the characters and their stories. It’s one of those books that I have thought about when not having the time to carry on reading, but still wondering what the characters might get up to next.

Lizzie and Henry were childhood sweethearts. They married and had their two daughter’s young. They are now in their early 40’s and their girls are away at University. It should be the time where they are enjoying their new found freedom as a couple and enjoying quality time together, but all Henry seems interested in is sitting in his arm chair, watching the darts, not saying much to Lizzie other than ‘What’s for tea?’. As a result Lizzie is feeling very lonely and unloved and is not quite sure what to do to put a bit of spark back in to their marriage. Have they nothing in common anymore, now the girls have grown up and flown the nest?

I’m sure lots of readers will relate to Lizzie’s situation. It made me very thankful for my husband. I’m very lucky that we are as lovey-dovey now as when we first got together and we are very much enjoying spending more quality time together as a couple now that our children are getting older. Don’t get me wrong, I love being a Mum. I have been a stay-at-home Mum for over 16 years. It’s the best job ever! But I do think it’s important for parents to remember that they are still a couple also. Time alone occasionally is lovely. I would be heartbroken if I thought my Hubby had gone off me!

Given Lizzie’s low mood, it’s not a huge surprise when her head is turned by a handsome new neighbour arriving in their cul-de-sac. It isn’t long before Marcus is paying her the attention she so desperately craves from Henry. Is he worth risking her marriage over though?

I really liked Lizzie and totally felt for her, feeling so miserable and stuck in a rut at such a young age, especially on the run up to Christmas. It’s not surprising she is tempted by the romance and excitement of Marcus. She is an instantly likeable character who I could totally see myself being friends with in real life.

The same goes for her best friend, Ann. Ann is brilliant. I loved her! She is completely different to Lizzie, but their friendship is heart-warming. Again, I’m very lucky to have friendships as special as theirs.

I don’t want to say too much about the storyline, but I can’t recommend this book highly enough! I was completely engrossed . It made me smile, laugh and cry. It’s the perfect story about love, loss, family and the magic of true friendship. It’s definitely one I will always remember and happily recommend to anyone and everyone!

I completely loved the fact that Lizzie has Gary Barlow in her pantry and talks to him daily also! Just brilliant! πŸ™‚

Buy your copy HERE

Description:

A gorgeous country house hotel, a liberal dusting of snow, a cosy weekend away…what more could Lizzie ask for at Christmas?

Every Christmas Lizzie promises herself that things will change and she will leap into the new year a new woman. And yet here she is again, at the beginning of December and nothing is different. Her girls have grown up and left home, her husband Henry is slumped in front of the TV and she is alone in the kitchen, seeking refuge in the cooking sherry and talking to her Gary Barlow calendar. She’s also been very diverted by handsome new neighbour Marcus and she knows she shouldn’t be …

So when best friend Ann suggests a weekend away in the country, Lizzie jumps at the chance. Will this Christmas escape give Lizzie some much needed perspective and allow her to mend her marriage? Or will Marcus prove to be too much of a distraction?

A funny feel good festive read about rediscovering the magic of Christmas – just the thing to curl up with on a cold winter’s night.

About the author:

Christie Barlow is the author of A Year in the Life of a Playground Mother, The Misadventures of a Playground Mother, Kitty’s Countryside Dream and Lizzie’s Christmas Escape. She lives in Staffordshire with her husband, four kids, horses, chickens and a mad cocker spaniel. Her writing career came as somewhat a surprise when she decided to write a book to teach her children a valuable life lesson and show them that they are capable of achieving their dreams. The book she wrote to prove a point is now a #1 bestseller in the UK and USA.

Christie loves to hear from her readers and you can get in touch via her website http://www.christiebarlow.com Twitter @ChristieJBarlow and Facebook page Christie Barlow author

You will find all of Christie Barlow’s books on her Amazon author page HERE

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Lizzie’s Christmas Escape by Christie Barlow @ChristieJBarlow @bookouture #BookReview

Leave a Reply

