Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Alli Sinclair 🙂

Happy Publication Day, Alli!

alli-sinclair

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

I’m Australian born but have spent many years living in other countries, such as Argentina, Peru and Canada. I’m an adventurer at heart, I’ve climbed some of the world’s highest mountains, and I’ve been lucky enough to immerse myself in an array of exotic destinations, cultures, and languages. My stories capture the romance and thrill of exploring new destinations and cultures that also take readers on a journey of discovery.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Oooh, that’s a hard one to answer because each story has its own way of coming to light. I’ve had stories pop into my head while doing the dishes (because let’s face it, doing the dishes isn’t the most exciting thing to do!), while driving a car, reading a newspaper article or watching a documentary … the list is endless. And I love that a story can appear out of thin air when I least expect it and that’s why I always have a pen and paper handy.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

No, my characters are their own (fictional) people in their own right. They might have an idiosyncracy of someone I know but that’s as far as it goes.

How do you pick your characters names?

Usually my characters choose their own names (they just pop into my head!) but sometimes they need a little help so I go onto baby name websites and type in the year my character is born and find out what names were popular back then. I tend to do this mostly if my character is foreign and my knowledge of names in that chosen nationality is a little limited. I’ve found some amazing names during my searches!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I tend to think of a title, then write a two paragraph blurb, then a ten page synopsis (yes, I’m a planner!) then the book. If I’m struggling with getting a handle on a particular character, I often interview them (there are a lot of really great character interview questions on the internet) and I find this interviewing process reveals a great deal about my character which then helps me when I’m writing the actual story.

Do you have a favourite author?

That’s a tough one as I have so many favourite authors across many genres. My automatic buy authors are Monica McInerney, Belinda Alexandra and Michelle Moran and I’m always on the lookout for a new-to-me authors. As my author network is large, I get to discover new-to-me authors almost every day!

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

I would love to meet the Chilean poet Pablo Neruda. He often wrote his poems in green ink because it was his symbol for desire and hope. I’d love to ask him about his diplomatic posts in Argentina, Spain and Mexico and how those experiences in such turbulent times, especially during the Spanish Civil War, shaped him as a person and his poems.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Absolutely! I was one of those kids who walked to school with my head in a book and I was able to dodge obstacles without losing my place in the story. The library was my second home and I was lucky enough to have a lovely school librarian who would knew my taste in books and she made sure I always had enough books to get me through each week!

When did you start to write?

I was always writing stories when I was a child but during my teen years and my twenties I was too busy being social and travelling the world. It wasn’t until my early thirties, when I was being interviewed on the radio about my travels, that the seed of writing fiction was planted. After the interview, the journalist said that I had so many great stories I should consider writing a book. I was surprised at his suggestion because it never occurred to me to do such a thing. I saw a travel writing competition and entered and to my surprise, I won and it was such a buzz seeing my name in print I pursued the idea of writing fiction. That’s when I discovered a love for writing and fast forward to ten years and three manuscripts later, I finally landed my first ever publishing deal and since then I’ve been contracted for seven books and counting!

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

Oh, this is such a great question! Hmmm … I don’t want to give away too much about the ending of A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth, but I would have loved to have changed the ending to what I WISHED it would be. It is such a beautiful story and I loved every minute of it but one of the characters makes a decision that is absolutely right for what was expected of her but oh, how I wished she’d made a decision that followed her heart!

What are you working on right now?

I’m in the luxurious position of being a year ahead of schedule right now so I am working on a book that is likely to come out in 2019 and also developing a brand new series for young readers. It’s rather exciting to be trying out a new genre and I’m really enjoying the challenge. That’s one thing I love about being a writer—it’s never boring!

Do you have a new release due?

Yes, I do! Under the Spanish Stars has just been released by Kensington Books and is now available worldwide.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I’m rather social and love keeping in contact with readers, so you can find me at any of these social media hangouts:

Website at www.allisinclair.com 

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AlliSinclairAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/allisinclair

Instagram: alli_sinclair

Google +: Alli Sinclair

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Alli-Sinclair/e/B00MSGMON0/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1456709127&sr=1-1

I also have a VIP Club that anyone can join and there are often give aways and competitions especially for members. You can sign up here:

https://allisinclairauthor.wordpress.com/newsletter/

under-the-spanish-stars

Previously published by Mira in Australia and New Zealand
 
Amid the vivid beauty of Granada, a woman entrusted with unraveling a family secret will discover the truth about her heritage—and the alluring promise of love…

When her beloved grandmother falls ill, Charlotte Kavanagh will do whatever she asks of her—even if it means traveling to a country that broke her abuela’s heart. Can an unsigned painting of a flamenco dancer unlock the secrets of her grandmother’s youth in Spain? To find the answers she needs, Charlotte must convince the charismatic and gifted musician, Mateo Vives to introduce her to a secluded gypsy clan.

The enigmatic Mateo speaks the true language of flamenco, a culture Charlotte must learn to appreciate if she wants to understand her grandmother’s past—and the flamenco legend that has moved souls to beauty, and bodies to the heights of passion. As Mateo leads her into the captivating world of the music and the dance, Charlotte embraces her own long-denied creative gift and the possibility of a future rich with joy…

BUY LINKS:

KENSINGTON BOOKS

http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/book.aspx/34060

AMAZON USA

http://www.amazon.com/Under-Spanish-Stars-Wandering-Skies-ebook/dp/B01CWYTJQM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1478150808&sr=8-1&keywords=9781601838940

AMAZON UK

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Under-Spanish-Stars-Wandering-Skies-ebook/dp/B01CWYTJQM/ref=la_B00MSGMON0_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1478151030&sr=1-1

Ibooks

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/under-the-spanish-stars/id1128182702?mt=11

GOOGLE:

https://play.google.com/store/search?q=9781601838940&c=books

KOBO

https://store.kobobooks.com/en-au/Search/Query?q=9781601838940

BARNES & NOBLE

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/under-the-spanish-stars-alli-sinclair/1123516113?ean=9781601838940

Many thanks to Alli for answering my questions 🙂

One thought on “Q&A with author, Alli Sinclair @allisinclair

Leave a Reply

