I am thrilled to be a part of Rachel Amphlett’s #ScaredtoDeath blog tour! Unfortunately, I haven’t had the chance to read the book, as yet, but it is very firmly on my TBR list. I do, however, have a Q&A with the lady herself…..

rachel-amphlett

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

I’m originally from the UK, and I’m currently living in Brisbane Australia. Scared to Death is the first in the new Detective Kay Hunter series – a detective with a hidden past, and an uncertain future.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Often it’s from a news article or an overheard conversation – my imagination will go into overdrive and I’ll think “what if?” and it goes from there.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

Not specifically. Often it’s an amalgamation of traits that I use to create a character. I might see someone with an interesting tic, or a particular figure of speech, and I’ll use that.

How do you pick your characters names?

I did have some fun with this one as there are a couple of characters named after actual people – people that have helped me enormously over the past five years of my publishing journey, and it was fun to give them something back.

Usually though, the majority of characters will have at least a first name that just pops into my head when I start outlining a new story. Scared to Death was hard, in that I had to come up with a name for my lead protagonist that I really liked, because I’m going to be with her for the rest of this series, so it had to be something that resonated with me. Right up to the point that the manuscript was ready to go to beta readers, I had “PROTAGONIST” in place of her name – I was getting a bit worried by that point that I wouldn’t come up with something, I can tell you!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

Once I have the original nugget of an idea, I’ll flesh it out a bit and then brainstorm the outline of a plot. From there I’ll develop a sentence to describe each scene/chapter and then get stuck in. I probably outline about 50% of the story and let the rest develop with the characters.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Absolutely – both my brother and I could read before we started primary school, and I inhaled books growing up. My favourite place at school was the library!

When did you start to write?

I wrote my first short story at seven or eight years old. My handwriting was so bad, my mum had to type it up, and I did the illustrations.

What are you working on right now?

I’m currently working on the second in the Kay Hunter series, which I’m planning on releasing early in 2017.

Do you have a new release due?

Scared to Death is out on 6 December 2016.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I love hearing from readers, and respond to every email. My contact form is on my website at www.rachelamphlett.com. My social media links are:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rachelamphlett.author/

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Many thanks to Rachel for answering my questions and for inviting me to a part of her fabulous blog tour!

scared-to-death-cover-ebook-large

Publisher: Saxon Publishing (6th December 2016)

Order your copy HERE

A serial killer murdering for kicks.

A detective seeking revenge.

When the body of a snatched schoolgirl is found in an abandoned biosciences building, the case is first treated as a kidnapping gone wrong.

But Detective Kay Hunter isn’t convinced, especially when a man is found dead with the ransom money still in his possession.

When a second schoolgirl is taken, Kay’s worst fears are realised.

With her career in jeopardy and desperate to conceal a disturbing secret, Kay’s hunt for the killer becomes a race against time before he claims another life.

For the killer, the game has only just begun…

Scared to Death is a gripping fast paced crime thriller from author Rachel Amphlett, in a new series introducing Kay Hunter – a detective with a hidden past and an uncertain future…

Make sure you catch up with, and follow, the rest of the #ScaredtoDeath blog tour…..

scared-to-death-blog-tour2-5-11-dec

This is just one week of the tour! Search #ScaredtoDeath for more!

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “#ScaredtoDeath (A Detective Kay Hunter Novel) @RachelAmphlett #BlogTour Q&A

Leave a Reply

