Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Colette McCormick to my blog. πŸ™‚

Colette’s book, Things I Should Have Said and Done, was published by Accent Press on 15th November 2016.

colette-mccormick

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

I fit writing in and around my job with one of the country’s leading charities. I am a Yorkshire lass by birth but now live in the beautiful county of Durham. My book, β€œThings I Should Have Said and Done,” is listed as a β€œsupernatural romance” but I’m not sure how that happened – I just put Ellen and George together and they developed their relationship themselves.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Random thoughts usually. I got the idea for β€œThings I Should Have Said and Done,” while I was talking to my husband on the phone.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

No

How do you pick your characters names?

Seriously, they are usually the first names that pop into my head – I kid you not. That being said, I do tend to use George a lot though I have no idea why.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

Generally, the first draft is a case of just getting it down and then I read through it again changing as I go. I’ll then set it aside for as long as I can before going through it a third time. I try to make sure that the first draft is completed six months before it’s due to be at the publishers.

Do you have a favourite author?

Not really, I tend to go for a book that I like the look of rather than an author.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

Thomas Hardy so I could ask him why he based his character Tess on me. At school, I was the only one who could understand why she behaved the way she did.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Yes, I read a lot of Enid Blyton. I loved the Faraway Tree.

When did you start to write?

When I was at primary school. I’ve always loved writing stories.

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change.

I loved β€œAll the Light We Cannot See,” by Anthony Doerr but I sort of wished that we had left the characters in the war rather than finding out what happened to them afterwards.

What are you working on right now?

A murder set in the 1950’s

Do you have a new release due?

My second novel is due out next year though there isn’t a firm date yet.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

https://www.instagram.com/colette.mccormick/

https://www.facebook.com/colette.mccormick1

http://withinkfromthepinkpen.blogspot.co.uk/

or find me on twitter @colettemcauthor

A big thank you to Colette for joining me on my blog today πŸ™‚

things-i-should-have-said-and-done

Publisher: Accent Press Ltd (15th November 2016)

Ellen never knew what hit her. But when a drunk driver runs a red light her life is over in an instant. Her small daughter survives – and Ellen, hovering in the borderland between life and the afterlife, can only watch as her loved ones try to pick up the pieces without her. Her husband Marc, struggling with being a single parent. Naomi, her little girl, blaming her mother for leaving her. And Ellen’s mother, full of guilt, slowly falling apart. Ellen isn’t ready to let go. She doesn’t want to say goodbye. She is confused, angry and hurting for her family and herself. And that’s where George comes in. He is her guide through her confusion as she witnesses the devastation among the living. With George at her side Ellen learns that even though she is dead she is not helpless. There are things that she can do from beyond the grave to influence what happens in the world she left behind. But George is new to his ‘job’, and has issues of his own. A working arrangement starts to become something neither of them expects. It is only after death that life can be fully understood.

Buy your copy HERE

3 thoughts on “Q&A with author, Colette McCormick @colettemcauthor @AccentPress

  1. I was a huge Enid Blyton fan too – and in fact just this week came across a great deal on the entire Famous Five series… I’m not sure if I’ll get around to reading them all again, but I am ridiculously thrilled to have them on my shelf! Things I Should have Said and Done sounds fascinating – definitely on my Christmas list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

