A big thank you to Zoe for taking part in my #AskMeAnything feature! And, a big thank you to all who sent me a question for Zoe.

zoe-williams

I live in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

I have two children, both teenagers.

I have a university degree, but have been lucky enough to have been a stay-at-home mom for the last fifteen years.

I love to read all genres from Historical Fiction to Contemporary Romance and everything in-between.

Most days, aside from reading, I spend my time cycling, hiking, volunteering, or running my kids here, there, and everywhere.

I started my blog to be able to share my love of reading and my thoughts and reviews with a larger audience.

Zoe’s Interview

1 – How far do you think a writer’s location affects their writing style?

  • I think location affects a writer’s style in the language, humour and dialect used.

2 – What’s your favourite literary villain?

  • White Witch – Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe

3 – I don’t know many Canadian authors – who would you recommend?

  • There are many great Canadian authors, Lawrence Hill, Michael Ondaatje, Louise Penny, Alice Munro

4 – In Canadian bookstores, is it mostly Canadian authors or is it easy enough to get books from international authors?

  • In Canadian bookstores, it is easy to all international authors, especially from the US and the UK.

5 – What makes a book jump from 4*s to 5*s for you and keeps you reading well past bedtime?

  • For me a book makes that jump from 4* to 5*s if it captivates me to a point that I don’t want to put it down; makes me laugh more than I have for a while; or has an ending that is completely unpredictable and satisfying.

6 – What are your 5 favourite characters from books you have read, across any genre??

  • Ove – A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  • Don Tillman – The Rosie Project
  • Elizabeth – Pride and Prejudice
  • Harold Fry – The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry
  • Inspector Gamache – The Chief Inspector Gamache Series by Louise Penny

7 – If you were told you could never read another word again, what would you do instead?

  • Enjoy the outdoors and cycle more.

8 – What is your proudest achievement?

  • Raising two wonderful kids.

9 – Who is your favourite author, who you have met?

  • I don’t really have one favourite author. There are just so many good authors out there. I have had the opportunity to meet Chris Cleave and Michael Crummey which was great.

10 – What’s your favourite bread?

  • A fresh french baguette

11 – If you could re-write the ending to any book which would it be and what would you change?

  • Gone Girl. I really enjoyed that book, except the ending. I thought the ending was a little weak. I felt after all the destruction and havoc wreaked there should have been some kind of punishment or retribution.

12 – What has been the most challenging moment of your adult life?

  • Living 3,000 miles away from my family (Mom, Dad, etc.)

13 – Which author would you really like to meet?

  • J.K. Rowling
  • I would have also really liked to meet Jane Austen

14 – Would you like to write a book?

  • Not really. I enjoy reading them too much.

15 – A book you’d love to see made into a film? (Maybe with casting?)

  • Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Mark Strong (Harold)

16 – What’s your favourite time of the year?

  • My favourite time of year is fall. I love the leaves changing colours and the crispness in the air.

17 – What’s the best surprise you’ve ever had?

  • When my husband proposed after 4 months of dating.

18 – Do you have a holiday destination you return to time and again or do you like to discover new places?

  • I love to visit new places, although Hawaii is definitely one of my favourites that I don’t mind revisiting now and again.

19 – Favourite read so far this year?

  • Ooh. Tough one. I have given (5) books this year a perfect rating for different reasons. If I had to pick only one I would have to say The Girl and the Sunbird by Rebecca Stonehill.

20 – What did you want to be when you were 10 years old?

A lawyer.

Zoe blogs at http://whatsbetterthanbooks.com/

If you are an author or book blogger would like to take part in my #AskMeAnything feature please feel free to email me a little bio, including a photo of yourself, to bellaboobos11@outlook.com

Thanks!

3 thoughts on “#AskMeAnything with #bookblogger Zoe Williams @WBTBBookReviews

Leave a Reply

