Allow me to introduce author and book blogger, Christina Philippou.

cphilippou-2

Christina very kindly offered to answer 20 random questions from you lovely people (thanks to all who sent a question).

Here is her interview…..

1 – I’d like to know just how Christina created those awful characters in Lost in Static, especially the foul Yasmine please!

I thought about the stereotype characters in fiction – the self-obsessed one, the good-looking one, the nervous one, the clueless one… and then I made then raw and real, gave them some angst and stupidity, and took away their understanding. I did try to give each character at least one redeeming feature, but I seem to have failed in that with Yasmine!

2 – Having loved your debut, can you tell us what you are currently working on at present and when can we look forward to seeing it?

Aww thank you! I’m currently editing Novel 2 (I know, catchy title!), which is darker – a suspense novel about immigration and the worst sides of love. I again play with perspective, this time looking at similar events from the rose-tinted glasses of youth and then through the (older and wiser but nevertheless) deep scars of recession and displacement. My poor protagonist really goes through the wringer… And I will keep you posted on the when!

3 – Cake or biscuits?

Is saying ‘both’ cheating?

4 – You’re an energetic, unselfish promoter of other authors as well as of your own books. Have you found any particular promotional strategy to be a) more effective and/ or b) less time consuming than others?

Great question. Unfortunately, there’s no easy or time-saving strategy as far as I can tell. I share what I find interesting, I share reviews of books I’ve enjoyed on my blog, and I write about my journey. All of this takes time, and I really wish I had more of it!

5 – What was it like making the leap from blogger to author? Was being on the opposite side of the blog tour and being the author at events what you expected based on your blogging experience?

Terrifying! Reviews have, on the whole, been great, and I think the blogger in me was able to deal with the less favourable ones far better than I would have done otherwise. The beauty of books is that, like the events in Lost in Static, they can be viewed in so many different ways, and what works for you may not work for others. Being the centre of attention at the launch and having to sign books is a very strange feeling, especially when one is normally used to be on the other side!

6 – What is your favourite movie genre?

I do like my action movies. I’m also a sucker for terrible rom coms…

7 – What was your inspiration for becoming a book blogger?

I’ve always loved reading and, once I realised the importance of reviews, I ensured I reviewed everything I read. I then found myself wanting to shout about books I loved, so I started sharing my recommended reads on my blog.

8 – Cats or dogs?

Dogs, although I do like cats too.

9 – What is your favourite TV programme?

Match of the Day. My apologies to those who expected something inspirational here!

10 – Have you seen any singers/bands live in concert?

Too many to list. London is brilliant for that, and I used to love going to gigs before I had kids. Now I rarely find the time…

11 – Are you a morning person or a night owl?

Morning person – I’m a miserable sod in the evenings.

12 – What has been your favourite read, so far this year?

There’s a few: The Black Orchid by Celine Jeanjean (fantasy), The Little French Guesthouse by Helen Pollard (feel-good fiction), Caught Inside by Jamie Deacon (young adult romance), Deadly Harvest by Michael Stanley (crime), Euro 2016 by Lloyd Pettiford and Ronan Fitzsimons (non-fiction), and Clanless by Jennifer Jenkins (part dystopian action, part romantic fantasy).

13 – Do you ever re-read books?

I do – although, more often, I re-read particular passages that resonate with me. I normally keep a copy of my favourite reads on my kindle so that if I’m feeling overwhelmed, uninspired, or upset, I can be drawn back into my favourite novels.

14 – If you had to be stuck in a lift with anyone, who would it be?

Lionel Messi!

15 – If you were to write an autobiography what would your title be?

Hectic…

16 – Who would you most like to meet for coffee?

Gillian Flynn – I love her writing and I’d love to pick her brains, but I’d be scared to be stuck in a lift with her…

17 – What is your favourite sport?

Football – I love to play it, watch it, coach it…

18 – Do you have pets?

Sadly, no.

19 – What is your idea of a perfect holiday?

Sunshine, action (mind out of the gutter- I mean the healthy exercise kind… Wait, that’s not sounding any better. Aaaargh!), sea, and my family. Yes, all of them. Preferably with a few hours a day to read, but now I really am asking too much!

20 – What is your favourite thing to do on a rainy day?

Read, preferably in front of an open fire…

🙂

Many thanks to Christina for joining in with my #AskMeAnything feature.

Lost in Static

Sometimes growing up is seeing someone else’s side of the story.

Four stories. One truth. Whom do you believe? 

Callum has a family secret. Yasmine wants to know it. Juliette thinks nobody knows hers. All Ruby wants is to reinvent herself. 

They are brought together by circumstance, torn apart by misunderstanding. As new relationships are forged and confidences are broken, each person’s version of events is coloured by their background, beliefs and prejudices. And so the ingredients are in place for a year shaped by lust, betrayal, and violence… 

Lost in Static is the gripping debut from author Christina Philippou. Whom will you trust?

Links

Lost in Static is available from, amongst others, Amazon UK, Amazon US, and direct from the publisher, Urbane Publications.

Author Bio

Christina Philippou’s writing career has been a varied one, from populating the short-story notebook that lived under her desk at school to penning reports on corruption and terrorist finance. When not reading or writing, she can be found engaging in sport or undertaking some form of nature appreciation. Christina has three passports to go with her three children, but is not a spy. Lost in Static is her first novel.

Christina is also the founder of the contemporary fiction author initiative, Britfic.

You can connect with Christina on her websiteTwitterFacebook, Instagram and Google+.

If you haven’t already and would like to, you can read my review here – Lost In Static by Christina Philippou *Review* @CPhilippou123 @urbanebooks

If you would like to be featured on #AskMeAnything please feel free to email me – bellaboobos11@outlook.com

3 thoughts on “#AskMeAnything with Christina Philippou @CPhilippou123

Leave a Reply

