Publisher: Bookouture (27th October 2016)

Wow, this is one to get your heart racing!

First of all, anyone who knows me well enough will know that I am a HUGE fan of Mel Sherratt and I’m proud to call her my friend. She is a lovely lady and the most fabulous writer. This in no way influences my reviews of her work though. I would be honest if I didn’t totally love one of her books, but anyone who has read Mel’s books before will know that this is unlikely to ever be an issue! I have read and thoroughly enjoyed all of Mel’s books and The Girls Next Door is right up there with them all. In fact, I think each book is slightly better than the last, if that is at all possible.

The Girls Next Door is due to be published by Bookouture on 27th October, so you know it will be excellent because Bookouture have some of the most fabulous authors on their books.

I feel like I can’t find the right words to properly do this book the justice it deserves, but I’ll do my best…..

Detective Eden Berrisford is a new character and one I have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know. She’s a feisty character who is obviously very good at her job. Her colleagues have a lot of respect for her and she has strong family values which shine throughout this story. She has a good relationship with her teenager daughter and is very close to her sister, Laura, and her niece’s, Jess and Sarah.

Eden, her team and the residents of Stockleigh are shocked when local teenagers are subjected to horrific and demoralising attacks. Are they revenge attacks or is there more to it?

Local teenager, Deanna, was fatally stabbed 6 months before and her murder case is coming up soon. I felt so sorry for her mother. Losing a child is every parents worst nightmare, let alone in such horrific circumstances. I also felt for Katie, who had been caught up in the tragedy and was now facing possible charges for a crime she didn’t commit. She was in the wrong place at the wrong time, but they can’t send her down when she didn’t do it. Can they? I could feel her mothers pain, seeing her daughter locked up for a crime she didn’t commit, when she had only been trying to help Deanna. As a parent of teenagers, I worry every day about these sorts of scenarios. It must be terrifying to live it!

Even more terrifying to find your daughter has been kidnapped! I just don’t know what I would do. I’d be hysterical so, for me, Laura’s reaction is totally believable when Jess is taken and time starts ticking on. Eden’s too as she battles to keep her emotions in check, as much as possible, to have the best chance of finding Jess alive.

My heart was racing as the search for Jess picked up pace. Would Eden and her team find her before it was too late?

The Girls Next Door is described as “a gripping, edge-of-your-seat crime thriller” and as far as I’m concerned this is spot on! The first page draws you in and the short chapters, each one of which ends in a way that makes you NEED to read the next, makes it a fast-paced and engaging read.

Just brilliant!

As with all of Mel’s books these characters are very real and (mostly) very likeable and I’m sure a lot of readers will relate to them and their stories. I have enjoyed getting to know the new characters and well as catching up with old friends from previous visits to Stockleigh.

I have to say also that although the actions of the kidnapper are horrendous, his story is heart-breaking.

If you’ve never read any of Mel’s books before you honestly don’t know what you’re missing. Why not give this one a go? I can guarantee you will be buying her others afterwards!

Many thanks to Mel Sherratt and Bookouture for my ARC of this fabulous book via Netgalley. I am very grateful and I will be recommending it to everyone!

Proud as always to be part of #TeamSherratt  🙂

Pre-order your copy of The Girls Next Door HERE

Description:

One warm spring evening, five teenagers meet in a local park. Only four will come out alive.

Six months after the stabbing of sixteen-year-old Deanna Barker, someone is coming after the teenagers of Stockleigh, as a spate of vicious assaults rocks this small community. Revenge for Deanna? Or something more?

Detective Eden Berrisford is locked into a race against time to catch the twisted individual behind the attacks – but when her own niece, Jess Mountford, goes missing, the case gets personal.

With the kidnapper threatening Jess’s life, can Eden bring back her niece to safety? Or will the people of Stockleigh be forced to mourn another daughter…?

A terrifying, compelling, police procedural which will thrill fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Rachel Abbott.

About the author:

Mel - Sentinel

I write gritty crime dramas, psychological suspense and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit, as I call it. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lynda la Plante, Mandasue Heller and Elizabeth Haynes. Since 2012, all eight of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the kindle UK top 20 and I’ve had several number ones. I’ve also had numerous Kindle All-star awards, for best read author and best titles.

I also write contemporary fiction under the name of Marcie Steele – Stirred with Love was published in September 2015, The Little Market Stall of Hope and Heartbreak in December 2015 and The Second Chance Shoe Shop in April 2016.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and make liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books. You can find out more at my website http://www.melsherratt.co.uk or I’m on Twitter at @writermels

***Not tried The Estate Series yet? For a limited time, you can grab a copy of the ‘behind the scenes look’ at the series, Secrets on The Estate. Just copy and paste this link into your browser for your free book: http://bit.ly/1fFPgmD ***

Previous books by Mel Sherratt…..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You will find all of Mel’s books on her Amazon author page HERE

Writing as Marcie Steele…..

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Check out Marcie Steele’s Amazon author page HERE

My earlier reviews of Mel’s work (since starting this blog)…..

Mel Sherratt – The Estate Series

Mel Sherratt – Written In The Scars – The Estate Series, Book 4

That’s What Friends Are For by Mel Sherratt writing as Marcie Steele

The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele (aka Mel Sherratt)

**Blog Tour** Q&A with author, Marcie Steele

4 thoughts on “The Girls Next Door (Detective Eden Berrisford crime thriller series Book 1) by Mel Sherratt *Review* @writermels @bookouture

Leave a Reply

