Today I am very pleased to welcome Rebecca Bradley to my blog 🙂 Rebecca is the author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. The prequel of which, Three Weeks Dead, is due out tomorrow! I hope you have a fab publication day, Rebecca.

I reviewed the audio version of Shallow Waters a while ago. I loved it! Made To Be Broken is on my TBR list, as is Three Weeks Dead!

I will share links to buy later on, but in the meantime I have a cracking Q&A for you to enjoy…..

rebecca-bradley

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Hi Kerry, firstly, I want to say thank you for having me on your blog. I really appreciate it.

I’m an ex-police detective, medically retiring after 16 years service. I’m now happily in a second career I love and that’s writing. How many people are lucky enough to get the opportunity to do two jobs they adore like that?

I write a series set in Nottingham with a female protagonist called Hannah Robbins. She’s a DI who works hard and on some pretty gruelling cases.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

My first novel, Shallow Waters was set in the world I was used to working in, and that was sexual exploitation. Though, of course, it wasn’t based on any true events. From there, all my ideas are snippets that jump into my head from things I see, hear or read. I have an ideas list written down and it now stands at about 15 ideas. I think I need to learn to write faster.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

There is only one character who is based very loosely on anyone I know and that is DC Martin Thacker. I based him on my old tutor when I first joined the police. He is a great bloke. Kind, calm, easy-going and hard-working. Nothing ruffled his feathers. He did also hate doing the paperwork!

How do you pick your characters names?

Ah, this is something I hate. Really. I hate it. Names are ridiculously important in novels. Well, in any story. They convey so much about the character. And it’s another list I have stored on my phone as well as the ideas list. If I’m watching the TV, I keep an eye on the credits for names as they scroll by and not just the actors, but all the back room staff. So, I have a list of male first names, female first names and surnames. I also have a baby name book in my office. And with both of these means of choosing names, I still find I’m stuck for names for some characters. Honestly, I find it that hard. So, if you read one of my books and you hate one of the names, you know how long it took me to choose it!

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

My writing process has evolved/is evolving. I’m a fairly new writer, just releasing my third piece of work and working on my fourth. When I started my debut, Shallow Waters (DI Hannah Robbins #1) I didn’t have a clue what I was doing. I opened a word document and started writing. I was what is known as a pantser. I had no outline. I knew the beginning and in my head I knew the ending, but other than that, I didn’t know anything else. It was a difficult process and it took me a long time to write it.

With Made to be Broken (#2) I decided to do it a different way, to plot things out before I started typing. I wrote a long synopsis so I had a plan of where it was going – including the middle. This made it easier, in one way to write – as a process – but not as book 2, in itself.

Do you have a favourite author?

I do have a favourite author, then I have a very close second. Karin Slaughter, the Sara Linton (from the very beginning because it’s morphed from one series into another) /Will Trent series. This is because she writes very character driven stories. I am invested in the characters and want to know what happens so I keep turning the pages and I buy her books without even reading the back blurb.

My close second is David Jackson. He’s a friend and an incredible writer. His work is also character driven and I’d also buy anything he writes without reading the blurb.

If you could meet any author, who would it be and what would you ask them?

Without question Karin Slaughter. I’ve been lucky enough to meet quite a few authors at festivals and she’s one that I haven’t met. I’d ask her if she’d mentor me! Do you think she would??

Were you a big reader as a child?

Yes. I can remember spending a lot of time in our beautiful library. Choosing books and reading books. I can remember I was a pretty eclectic reader. Picking up huge tomes of books sometimes. Losing myself in them.

When did you start to write?

I kept starting a first chapter for a couple of years and then not finishing it or losing it. It wasn’t until a large birthday loomed that I decided if I was going to do it then now was the time to do it. I was doing an OU degree in Geosciences at the time. I’d completed my level one courses and decided I was going to take a year out to see if I could write a novel. I never went back…

If you could re-write the ending to any book what would it be and what would you change?

This has to be the hardest question I have ever come across! Does anyone ever answer it?? Okay, I’ve got it, I’m not sure which book it was, but the Patricia Cornwell book where she kills off Benton. I went to a talk by her once and she said she regretted that decision to kill him off, that she listened to her fans and that was the reason she brought him back. I think it was a very difficult time for her as a writer and if I could change it for her, I’d change the ending of that book. No writer wants to receive a backlash that huge that you reverse a decision that big.

What are you working on right now?

I’m writng a standalone at the minute. I’m really excited by it. It’s very different to the DI Hannah Robbins series. And that’s all I can really say about it at the minute. Sorry.

Do you have a new release due?

I do. Three Weeks Dead is a novella and also a prequel to Shallow Waters. It’s out tomorrow on all Amazon stores.

How far would you go if someone took your wife?

Especially, if you buried her a week ago.’

How can readers keep in touch with you?

On my blog at Rebeccabradleycrime.com I’m on Twitter (too much) at @RebeccaJBradley and on Facebook at Facebook.com/RebeccaBradleyCrime

Thanks again for having me Kerry.

Many thanks, Rebecca, for answering my questions and joining me on my blog today 🙂 It has been a pleasure!

Check out this rather fabulous cover!

three-weeks-dead

Buy your copy HERE

How far would you go if someone took your wife?

Especially, if you buried her a week ago.

When Jason Wells is faced with this scenario, he is confronted with the prospect of committing a crime that will have far-reaching consequences.

Can young DC Sally Poynter get through to him before he crosses that line, or does a desperate husband prove to be the case she won’t ever forget?

A prequel novella, set before Shallow Waters, the first in the DI Hannah Robbins series.

For fans of James Patterson’s Book Shots.

Buy your copy of Shallow Waters HERE

If you haven’t already and would like to, you can read my review of Shallow Waters here – Shallow Waters (Detective Hannah Robbins crime series Book 1) by Rebecca Bradley

Buy your copy of Made To Be Broken HERE

Watch this space for my reviews!

Happy reading 🙂

3 thoughts on “Q&A with author, Rebecca Bradley @RebeccaJBradley

Leave a Reply

