Today I am very pleased to welcome Laura Briggs to my blog.

Laura Briggs

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Well, I live in the country, on a sort-of farm—that is, we have chickens, goats, dogs, and cats, etc. I love to work outside with various plants and landscaping projects and have dreams of learning to bake really elaborate cakes (my favorite way to spend a Saturday morning is binge watching episodes of The Great British Bake Off). My first published work was Only in Novels, a romantic short story about a bookstore owner who teams up with a handsome author to rescue her struggling business. I’ve written several Jane Austen-themed works and several wedding-themed romances, including my latest novella, A Wedding in Cornwall.

 

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Oh, everywhere. A lot of them come from talking with family and friends. Some of the best ideas are born from conversations on long car ride trips, I’ve found.

 

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

Not really. I tend to draw inspiration for certain characters by thinking what actor would play them best in a movie adaptation. It really helps me picture all the little quirks and characteristics that would help them come alive on the page.

 

How do you pick your characters names?

A lot of them come from the baby name book my parents used. Others come from favorite characters in TV shows and books.

 

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

A laptop and a playlist of favorite songs for inspiration.

 

Do you have a favourite author?

A lot of them, yes. Jane Austen is one I tend to read again and again. I like several of Anne Tyler’s books and some by Amy Tan. I’m also a big fan of mystery and historical suspense authors. Agatha Christie, Mary Roberts Rinehart, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Lynn Shepherd, Alex Grecian, and too many more to name.

 

If you could meet any author, who would it be? And what would you ask them?

That is such a tough question! But, you know, I think it would probably be Jane Austen. She was so talented and perceptive, but she didn’t really get to see the impact her novels would have on readers all over the world. I think I would ask her what she thinks about all the modern continuations and variations on her novels. Hopefully, she would see them as a compliment!

 

Were you a big reader as a child?

Not at all. I read a few books a month from the library, but I far and away preferred watching TV. I really didn’t appreciate reading until I was thirteen or fourteen. Then, I started reading some of the classic books like Jane Eyre and Sense and Sensibility. I’m still a big fan of classic books, especially those by Charles Dickens. It does take a little more patience and effort to read them, though.

 

When did you start to write?

I didn’t seriously start to write until I had graduated from college. I sent off my first manuscript, the short story Only in Novels, not really expecting anything to come of it. I was completely surprised when they sent a contract a few weeks later.

 

What are you working on right now?

The sequel to my romantic novella, A Wedding in Cornwall. Called A Christmas in Cornwall, it continues the story of American event planner Julianne, as she adjusts to her new job at the beautiful Cornish country house—and grapples with her romantic feelings for the handsome gardener, Matt.

 

When can we look forward to a new release?

A Christmas in Cornwall will be available on October 18th and can now be purchased as a pre-order from Amazon.

 

How can readers keep in touch with you?

They can catch up with me on Twitter via @PaperDollWrites, or on Facebook, here: http://on.fb.me/1JjeMoI

Thanks to Laura for answering my questions 🙂

Laura’s latest release…..

A Wedding in Cornwall: A perfect feel good romance by [Briggs, Laura]

It’s the career move of a lifetime, and Julianne can’t believe it’s hers: a position as an event planner at a country house in Cornwall, England, beginning with the wedding of a celebrity! If her old firm’s senior planner back in the States hadn’t fallen suddenly sick with the chicken pox, Julianne would never have found herself chosen for a life in one of England’s most beautiful coastal counties, surrounded by rugged shores, quaint cottages, elegant gardens and a house to die for.

But life in Cornwall isn’t exactly as Julianne imagined it. Her first bride-to-be is a resentful, petted snob, the groom is immature and bored, and the Cornish staff of Cliffs House has a difficult time believing that an event planner from a mid-level position can handle a wedding this big. And then there’s a personal matter — the handsome, sometimes charming, sometimes standoffish gardener Matthew Rose. He and Julianne have a strangely complicated relationship somewhere between friendship and attraction. But with a secret in his past, and a scheming bridesmaid plotting to have Matthew all to herself, will Julianne find a way to untangle her feelings and the problems of planning a perfect Cornish wedding?

Buy your copy HERE

Check out all of Laura’s books, on her Amazon author page, HERE

Watch this space for my review!

 

2 thoughts on “Q&A with author, Laura Briggs

Leave a Reply

