Truly Madly Guilty by [Moriarty, Liane]

Publisher: Penguin (28th July 2016)

This is the first book I’ve read by Liane Moriarty, but it certainly won’t be my last!

Truly Madly Guilty had me gripped from the start. I found the characters interesting, although not all necessarily likeable all of the time. I was itching to find out more about them.

Erika’s and Clementine’s friendship is an odd one. They’ve been friends since they were little, but Clementine seems to resent the fact that her mother included Erika in pretty much everything as she was growing up, almost as though she feels like she’s been forced to be her best friend and it has just become a habit. They are polar opposites! I did feel quite sorry for Erika at times, but I could also see how she might grate on someone. Anyway, they stayed in close contact as adults and Erika is Clementine’s daughter’s God Mother. So, when Erika needs help, she feels like Clementine is the obvious person to go to, but Clementine isn’t so sure she can offer the help needed when first approached.

The story centres around a barbecue, which they are all invited to, at Erika’s neighbours house. They are hopeful that the afternoon will provide some much needed relaxation and give them time to think about what is being asked of them. None of them could have imagined how that day would end.

I loved the build up to this life changing event. Throughout the book we flit back between that day and since. As the story progresses we learn more and more about the characters and their relationships with each other. The whole thing flows really well, creating suspense. I had to keep reading to find out what was so awful about that day at the barbecue. I have to say that I was imagining all sorts of scenarios, but as usual I got it wrong!

Overall an excellent read.

I’ll be off now to add Liane Moriarty’s other books to my TBR list 🙂

Many thanks to the author and publisher for approving my request on Netgalley. I will happily recommend!

Buy your copy here – Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Description (via AmazonUK):

Despite their differences, Erika and Clementine have been best friends since they were children. So when Erika needs help, Clementine should be the obvious person to turn to. Or so you’d think.

For Clementine, as a mother of a two desperately trying to practise for the audition of a lifetime, the last thing she needs is Erika asking for something, again.

But the barbecue should be the perfect way to forget their problems for a while. Especially when their hosts, Vid and Tiffany, are only too happy to distract them.

Which is how it all spirals out of control….

3 thoughts on “Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty *Review*

Leave a Reply

