Publisher: Bookouture (5th July 2016)

5/5*

I knew I was on to a winner with The Sister as it’s published by Bookouture and they have some fabulous authors! Louise Jensen is no exception. It’s hard to believe this is a debut novel.

Grace has been struggling since Charlie died. They had been best friends since school. I really felt for Grace because I know I’d be devastated in the same situation. Being accused, by her mother, of causing her death and having no idea why only adds to her heart-break.

Everyone reacts to and deals with grief differently.

Grace seems to just be going through the motions of life, finding no joy in anything, and her relationship with Dan has been suffering as a result. Dan starts to stay out late more often, getting drunk, and is acting differently, but Grace has no idea what he’s hiding or if she’s just being paranoid.

When they were teenagers, Grace and Charlie make a memory box and bury it agreeing to only open it together in years to come. With Charlie gone Grace has no choice but to open it alone. She thought she knew Charlie inside out, but it appears not.

‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me……’ What did Charlie do that was so terrible?

Grace and Dan start a campaign to find Charlie’s father, something Charlie was keen to pursue once turning 18. A girl called Anna gets in touch claiming to be Charlie’s half-sister. Anna and Grace soon become close and Grace finds comfort in her being part of Charlie. However, it soon became obvious that something isn’t quite right with Anna.

I had no idea what was going on with this story, for the most part, which is why I loved it! Each chapter left me wanting to know more. It is full of suspense, brilliantly written with great characters and a shocking twist. A must read for all psychological thriller fans!

Many thanks, as always, to Bookouture for my auto-approval status on Netgalley. I am more than happy to recommend The Sister.

Description:

‘I did something terrible Grace. I hope you can forgive me …’

Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear that there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie … Or was there?

A compelling, gripping psychological thriller perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, I Let You Go and The Girl With No Past.

You can buy your copy here – The Sister by Louise Jensen

About the author:

Louise lives in Northamptonshire with her husband, children, madcap spaniel and a rather naughty cat. The Sister is Louise’s debut novel.

Louise loves to hear from readers and writers and can be found at http://www.louisejensen.co.uk, where she regularly blogs flash fiction.

Advertisements

8 thoughts on “The Sister by Louise Jensen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s