Today I have the pleasure of being the next stop on Netta Newbound’s Prima Facie blog tour. Netta is a new-to-me author, but needless to say, all of her books are now on my TBR list!

Check out Netta’s Q&A…..

Netta Newbound

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your book(s) please?

Firstly, I’d like to thank you for inviting me today. Originally from Manchester, England, I now live in beautiful New Zealand with my husband, where I write full-time. Most of my novels are psychological thrillers, although I do have three non-fiction books that I co-wrote with a friend.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Good question. The initial idea can come from anywhere. It may start as a tiny thought and before I know it, the thought morphs into something much bigger that demands attention.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

No is the short answer. It’s funny, but people who know me read my books looking for somebody they recognise. They may take the most minute of details like a type of car or breed of dog and try to make it fit. In a couple of my books, the husband is gay and my husband was worried at first, thinking everyone would suspect I was writing about him.

How do you pick your characters names?

The main characters names come to me in the same way the story does—they’re already named. But the minor characters I will take from anywhere. I’ll sometimes call out to my husband… ‘I need a name for a thirty-five-year-old female lawyer living in the USA’…and he’ll fire suggestions at me.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

I begin at page one and write. I know that probably sounds as though I’m being a smartarse, but I’m not. A lot of writers will write the main scenes first and then fill in the other details around them. I can’t do that – I write it in sequence. If I come across any difficult scenes (i.e. the rape scene in An Impossible Dilemma) I will write the basic details and then come back to fill out the rest once I can face it.

Do you have a favourite author?

Stephen King is my all-time favourite. I love his twisted thinking—it makes so much sense to me.

If you could meet any author, who would it be? And what would you ask them?’

The man himself – Mr King – although I probably wouldn’t ask him a thing—I’d be tongue-tied!

Were you a big reader as a child?

Absolutely. I read anything and everything – Enid Blyton was my favourite when I was very young but then I read all my mum’s Mills & Boon books and progressed to my grandmothers more terrifying bookshelf. James Herbert’s The Rats was my first horror. It petrified me, yet I couldn’t stop reading it. That book cemented my love of that genre.

When did you start to write?

Around 12 years ago. Well, that’s when I became serious about my writing.

What are you working on right now?

I’ve just released my latest book, Prima Facie – the 4th in the Adam Stanley Series. And now I am embarking on something totally new to me—working with another author on a psychological thriller called The Watcher. I’m totally excited although a little apprehensive about this, as, up to now, I’ve been able to write exactly what I want, without having to consult with anybody… wish me luck! Haha.

When can we look forward to a new release?

We’re aiming for October 2016 at this stage.

How can readers keep in touch with you?

I have a webpage at nettanewbound.com or you can find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Thanks so much for joining me on my blog today, Netta 🙂

Thanks also to Sarah at Bytheletterbookreviews for inviting me to take part in this fab blog tour!

Prima facie eye

Publisher: Junction Publishing (8th July 2016)

You can purchase your copy here – Prima Facie by Netta Newbound

If, like me, you need to play catch up, you will find all of Netta’s previous books on her Amazonuk author page

Don’t forget to check out the other awesome bloggers who are taking part in this blog tour…..

Netta Newbound Blog tour

2 thoughts on “Prima Facie **Blog Tour** Q&A with author, Netta Newbound

Leave a Reply

