I am over the moon to be today’s stop on Rita Brassington’s #TGKOB blog tour!

The Good Kind of Bad Blog Tour-8

I was lucky enough to read The Good Kind Of Bad a while ago now and I thoroughly enjoyed it! You will find links to my review and also my Q&A with Rita further down the post, but first you can enjoy the guest post Rita has written especially for you. I love it! Especially as I am also a Stoke lass 😉

Enjoy…..

A Sense of Place

 In my next book, I will write about what I know, from an experience standpoint at least. For my first, I didn’t. I set it in Chicago, a city I have been to twice, but am no expert on. It isn’t my world, the setting and the story, and still it seemed like the perfect backdrop. Maybe it was the filmic sense of the place, the other – not the back streets of Manchester but the wide avenues on the shores of Lake Michigan. It’s an exciting place, and a place just right to set a psychological thriller in.

Everything and everywhere is ordinary to somebody, but Chicago was not my ordinary (and my life is thankfully not a psychological thriller).

So how important is it to write about what you know, or is it better to write purely based on research, or a combination of the two?

Exploring somewhere new, with characters and events not straight out of your day-to-day experience but still being relatable, is what I set out to do with The Good Kind of Bad. The thing I like most about writing is that my vision of a place will be different to every other reader’s – there’s only so much description that can make a world jump off the page without it being added to by the readers own personal experience, their own sense of place. That’s why people never seem to enjoy the film as much as the book. It’s never going to be the world they imagined.

Books are better in people’s heads than on the screen – if the book’s read first, of course. Nothing can compete with your own imagination. A writer can be as descriptive as they want, but the Joe Petrozzi from my book will be different from every other reader’s Joe.

It also depends how much the reader knows about the place to begin with. New York is everywhere you look, even on the other side of the world from the Big Apple, but Chicago is not so formed. I’d chosen the streets where my characters live, the places they go, what they see when they step out the door – and then my friend, who lives in Chicago, messaged me about the book. She was confused about the streets and hadn’t heard of some of the bars. Yes, some of them are made up. They’re not real. But that doesn’t matter. It’s a fictional Chicago. It’s whatever you want it to be.

I grew up in a small village in Staffordshire, near Stoke-on-Trent. I think when I first started to write, I thought the point was to get as far away from what I knew as possible, that it was almost the point to not write about what you know, but there’s benefits to already having a half-formed world. I almost feel a little guilty for skipping over a great city that not many people from outside its borders know much about. Apart from Robbie Williams, pot banks, oatcakes and football (city, not vale, of course), there’s so much more to discover. It’s been through urban decline, regeneration, and it’s only now I’m realising how many stories there are to be told from right outside your window. Sometimes you don’t need to travel half way around the world, it can be next door.

Everything is ordinary to someone, which can only mean it’s extra-ordinary to everyone else.

The Good Kind Of Bad cover

‘Top-notch domestic thriller’ **** – HEAT Magazine

‘…had me clinging on by my fingernails’ – Claire Loves to Read
‘…couldn’t put it down’ – Portobello Book Blog
‘…will have you hooked right until the last page’ – Whispering Stories
~
Secrets don’t stay secret for long…
She spent her whole life being the perfect daughter, the perfect girlfriend, and was all ready to become the perfect wife.
But after ditching her fiancé at the altar and escaping to Chicago, she marries smouldering stranger Joe Petrozzi three weeks after meeting him in a bar. At least this time, there’s no chance of cold feet.
Married life starts out great: there’s the new job, a gorgeous, enigmatic husband and money’s not an issue.
So what if she’s kept a few secrets from Joe – like where all her money came from. Joe’s been keeping secrets from her, too.
But his might just get her killed.

You can purchase your copy here – The Good Kind Of Bad by Rita Brassington

If you haven’t already and would like to, you can read my 5* review for this excellent read here – The Good Kind of Bad by Rita Brassington

Also, make sure you check out Rita’s Q&A here – Q&A with author Rita Brassington

And, don’t forget to follow the rest of this fab blog tour…..

the good kind of bad blog tour - 1

Many thanks to Rita for inviting me to take part in her fantastic blog tour!

#TGKOB

One thought on “#TGKOB **Blog Tour** Guest post from author, Rita Brassington

Leave a Reply

