I am over the moon to be todays stop on Marcie Steele’s, The Second Chance Shoe Shop, Blog Tour!

Marcie (aka Mel Sherratt) very kindly agreed to an author interview to mark the occasion ๐Ÿ™‚

Marcie Steele

For those who don’t know already, could you tell us about yourself and your books please?

I write under the name of Marcie Steele and I write crime thrillers under my own name, Mel Sherratt. As Marcie, I write books set in the fictional town of Hedworth. All the books are set in establishments. Stirred with Love is set in a coffee shop, Thatโ€™s What Friends are For is based in an indoor market and The Second Chance Shoe Shop speaks for itself.

Where did/do you get your ideas from?

Everywhere. I only have to hear a snippet of conversation, or a song on the radio. Also, I read the problems pages in womenโ€™s magazines.

Are any of your characters based (however loosely) on anyone you know?

No, never. The characters just come to me and I make them into what I need for each story. I think if I based them on anyone, it might dictate how the story goes rather than it evolving how it should. Although I do think there is a bit of me in each characterโ€ฆ

How do you pick your character’s names?

There is a great story around Rileyโ€™s name. I was originally going to write under the pen name of Ruby Flynn instead of Marcie Steele. I donโ€™t know why I changed my mind but when I started writing The Second Chance Shoe Shop, and named Riley Ruby Flynn, a book came out called Ruby Flynn! So I had to change her name to Riley. Iโ€™m so pleased though because I love the name Riley Flynn now.

I also have a book of baby names that I go through and names pop out at me. I also read through the local newspaper, The Sentinel, to get names from there โ€“ usually from the births, deaths and marriages.

Can you share your writing process with us, in a nutshell?

Iโ€™m an early riser so I try to either write or edit 2000 words early on. Often it doesnโ€™t work this way if I have a lot of emails or admin to do, so sometimes if it is niggling at me, Iโ€™ll do some of that and then write between nine and twelve. Afternoons are then for admin and social media, blog posts and general things that pop in each day. If I am on a deadline however, I will write or edit from morning until noon, everything else gets pushed to one side and I have to catch up when Iโ€™ve finished.

Do you have a favourite author?

Eek โ€“ what a question! I have lots but my favourite womenโ€™s fiction author is perhaps Lisa Jewell. I love how her books have changed throughout the years, too.

Were you a big reader as a child?

Yes, I always had my nose in a book. I loved reading Enid Blyton, The Magic Faraway Tree and the Famous Five and the Secret Seven.

When did you start to write?

I really canโ€™t recall a time I didnโ€™t want to write, but I started to write my first book way back in 1999.

What are you working on right now?

As Marcie Steele is my pen name, right now Iโ€™m working on a crime novel under my own name. Itโ€™s called Lock up Your Daughter and will be out in the autumn.

When can we look forward to a new release?

It will depend on how well The Second Chance Shoe Shop is received. Iโ€™m really not sure!

How can readers keep in touch with you?

You can find me at any of these places online:

Twitter https://twitter.com/Marcie_Steele

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/MarcieSteeleauthor/

Blog/Website https://marciesteele.wordpress.com

Many thanks to Marcie for inviting me to take part in her fabulous blog tour and for answering my questions. Many thanks also to Kim at Bookouture.

If you haven’t read The Second Chance Shoe Shop yet, why ever not!?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was released on 8th April 2016 by Bookouture and you can purchase your copy HEREย 

Second Chance Shoe Shop Cover

Description:

‘The Second Chance Shoe Shop is that rarest of treats, a story filled with warm and wonderful characters who feel like your best friends from the first page.’ Tilly Tennant

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes sheโ€™ll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewartโ€™s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet โ€ฆ

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

If you haven’t already and would like to, you can read my 5* review HERE

Be sure to follow the rest of The Second Chance Shoe Shop blog tour!

Second Chance Shoe Shop Blog Tour

#shoelove

2 thoughts on “**Blog Tour** Q&A with author, Marcie Steele

Leave a Reply

