Publisher: Bookouture (8th April 2016)

5/5*

First of all, many thanks to Marcie πŸ˜‰ Mel Sherratt and Bookouture for my ARC of The Second Chance Shoe Shop.

I make no secret of the fact that I am a massive fan of Mel’s / Marcie’s. I have genuinely loved everything she has written and I’m always very excited to read her new releases. I feel blessed to be able to read them prior to publication. I’ve been lucky enough to meet Mel a few times now and we chat fairly regularly via email, Facebook, Twitter etc. I like to think we are friends πŸ™‚

If you still haven’t read any of Mel’s or Marcie’s books, you really should. You will love them!

Anyway, it took me all of my time not to start reading this immediately, but I was determined to save it for my weekend away in Northumberland and what a wonderful weekend it has been. Not only have I enjoyed the quality time with my husband and babies, but I have had the pleasure of getting to know Riley, Sadie, Esther, Dan, Cooper, Ash and the rest of the gang. What a lovely friendship they share. Riley, Sadie and Dan also work together at Chandler’s shoe shop. Having a job you love is a blessing and getting on well with those you work with is priceless. The shop isn’t doing so well though so, with Riley’s lead they embark on a social media campaign (even involving a flash mob dance) in an attempt to bring the customers in. Local journalist, Kim Nash πŸ™‚ and photographer, Ethan, are on hand to help. All goes well initially, but nothing is ever that straight forward.

Riley hasn’t had much luck in love. After a long term relationship ended she thinks she might have finally met ‘the one’ in Nicholas, but he leaves her heart-broken too. When she meets Ethan and acknowledges there is a spark between them, she is reluctant to trust. Would he be worth the risk?

Sadie is grieving for her husband, Ross. He died a few months previously, of cancer. Her 6 year old daughter, Esther, helps to keep her going along with her job and her friends. She doesn’t know where she would be without them, but being a widow at 35 is not easy and worrying about the possibility of the shop closing doesn’t help. She’s happy to help with whatever it takes to keep it open. She can’t imagine working anywhere else.

Dan feels the same way. They are all so close and having to find another job would be hard. His love life isn’t great either and his friends mean the world to him. They need to keep the shop open!

I loved the banter between the group of friends. Their stories are very real and as with all friendships they have their ups and downs. All of the main characters are very likeable which helped to make this book a joy to read. I think I would get on with them in real life πŸ™‚

Cooper’s friendship with Sadie is heart-warming. He is a lovely character.

It was funny, for me, reading about Paul and Christine (Sadie’s in-laws) as we have close friends (married) called Paul and Christine.

Dan made me laugh!

I even warmed to Suzanne in the end.

I was willing them all to succeed in keeping the shop open and for them to find the happiness they are craving.

All in all, this is a lovely story. I was hooked from the start and didn’t want to put it down, but as much as I wanted to keep reading, I didn’t want it to end either. Having said that, the ending is beautiful! It did make me cry.

I’m sure a lot of people will relate to these characters and their stories.

I recommend to everyone who loves a bit of romance, true friendship, a bit of a giggle and shoes!

#shoelove

Many thanks to Mel Sherratt (Marcie Steele) and Bookouture again for my ARC.

Proud as always to be part of Team Sherratt πŸ™‚

You can pre-order your copy of The Second Chance Shoe Shop HERE

Description:

‘The Second Chance Shoe Shop is that rarest of treats, a story filled with warm and wonderful characters who feel like your best friends from the first page.’ Tilly Tennant

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

Marcie Steele’s Amazon author page

About the author:

I’m Mel Sherratt but I also write under the name of Marcie Steele. I’m a romantic at heart and have always wanted to write about characters who were not necessarily involved in the darker side of life. Coffee, cakes and friends are three of my favourite things, hence Stirred with Love for my first book writing as Marcie Steele. My second, That’s What Friends are For, was published in December 2015 and my new book, The Second Chance Shoe Shop will be out on 8 April 2016.

As Mel, I write crime thrillers, psychological suspense and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit, as I call it. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Mandasue Heller, Lynda la Plante, Mandasue Heller and Elizabeth Haynes. Since 2012, all eight of my crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the kindle UK top 20 and I’ve had several number ones.

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter. You can find out more at my website http://www.melsherratt.co.uk or I’m on Twitter at @writermels

11 thoughts on “The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele (aka Mel Sherratt)

  1. I am so desperate to read this but trying to be good and not add to my tbr. But your review has swayed me and it is now on the Kindle! I am telling myself it can wait until I have more time…..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

