Publisher: Corvus (3rd March 2016)

5/5*

WOW!

First of all, what a cracking opening chapter! I can’t imagine anyone reading it and deciding not to continue. I read this book in 6 days, which is quick for me. This is partly due to spending Friday in London, eating lunch in Costa and lounging around the Washington Mayfair hotel whilst my husband was at a work luncheon, but I don’t think it would have taken me much longer to read had I been at home with my usual distractions.

Sophie Gardener is about to turn 40. She wakes at 2am to find an intruder in her bedroom. If this wasn’t terrifying enough, he puts a letter on her bedside table with strict instructions to open it at her 40th Birthday party the following evening. He knows of her family (he has pictures and everything as proof) and threatens their safety should she not follow these instructions exactly. He has clearly been hired by someone she knows, but who would hate her enough to send such a threat?

This book is described as a ‘fast-paced, gripping psychological thriller’ and I think this is a very accurate description. Unputdownable is another word I would use, even though it’s not a real word! I just had to find out who had sent this letter to Sophie and why it was so important that she read it at precisely 8pm, at her 40th Birthday party. It turns out it was to be much more than a Birthday party, but I won’t say more than that as I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.

Needless to say I would recommend this to everyone. An easy 5 stars for me.

I won my paperback copy via a giveaway Lucy Dawson held on her Facebook page. Many thanks to Lucy. I loved it!

You can buy your copy here – You Sent Me A Letter

Book description –

At 2 a.m. on the morning of her fortieth birthday, Sophie wakes to find an intruder in her bedroom. The stranger hands Sophie a letter and issues an threat: open the letter at her party that evening, in front of family and friends, at exactly 8 p.m., or those she loves will be in grave danger.

What can the letter possibly contain?

This will be no ordinary party; Sophie is not the only person keeping a secret about the evening ahead. When the clock strikes eight, the course of several people’s lives will be altered for ever.

About the author –

Lucy Dawson has had four books published in the UK, the first of which – His Other Lover – was a bestseller in 2008. Her fifth book will be published by Corvus in 2016. She lives in Exeter with her husband and children. Find out more at http://www.lucydawsonbooks.co.uk

Click here for Lucy Dawson’s Amazon author page

 

2 thoughts on “You Sent Me A Letter by Lucy Dawson

Leave a Reply

